What Kind of RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default What Kind of RAM

Hi, I was wondering while looking at RAM online, they have different "pin numbers", don't know exactly what they are called but one example is 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM. Do I need a certain type of "pin", or will any work? I f I do need a certain type, how can I find out what I need? Also could someone explain to me what this "pin thing" is exactly, thanks.
__________________

tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its the type of ram and yes you need to match it to your computer. if you could just give us an idea of what your pc is guaranteed someone can tell you what you need.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Well, I have a Dell (8300 if that helps), with the specs:

-Intel Pentium 4 3.0GHz Processor
-Gefore 7800 GS
-2 x 256 Mb RAM (I am trying to upgrade to 2 x 512 Mb RAM)
-400 W PSU
-Dell Motherboard

So if that is enough info please tell me what I need, or if it is not enough tell me what other info I should tell you.
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

donno how the dell numbering works, but if all 8300's are the same, then you need 184 pin PC3200 DDR400 ram. do not get DDR2.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks, and how do you know this?
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

http://reviews.zdnet.co.uk/hardware/...0004197,00.htm , you need 184 pin pc3200/ddr400
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Sweet, thanks. Also just wondering, does this seem like good RAM:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
tpacyga is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you welcome , corsair is a reliable brand and that ram is pretty good for general use (general as not for overclocking,but you got a dell mobo so you cant overclock anyway )
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 10:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

yes, that ram is great value and reliable.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.