What is the issue is it my graphics card. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2008, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default What is the issue is it my graphics card.

Age of conan is running at ****** fps i was wondering if all the stuff i have the only bad thing is my graphics cards. If yall think it is if anyone could intereste me in buying a 8800 or 9600 cheaper versions is fine 150 or less and if you all could explain if it would work on my motherboard.

Newegg.com - XFX PVT96GYDF4 GeForce 9600 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Newegg.com - PNY VCG88512GXPB GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

This is what i have on my cpu.

Microsoft Windows XP Professional Build 5.1 build 2600
Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHx (2 CPUs)
3070MB RAM "Average Memory Used is 1019MB RAM"
DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

Dell Dxp051
Buss Type - Intel NetBurst
Bus Width - 64-bit
Real Clock - 200mhz (QDR)
Effective Clock - 800 mhz
Bandwidth - 6400 MB/s

NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE (512MB) at 1280 x 1024 Display 60hz what i run it at. Dirvers are updated also.

SigmaTel Audio "Sound really doesent bother me though"
__________________

bigddonaldlee is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

Ok, ya its your GPU, it sucks, but your CPU is also pretty crappy too

Make the move to the 9600gt it'll work as its got a PCI-e port, and if you want upgrade that cruddy CPU to the e2160 or something, thats even a good upgrade too

or get this:
Newegg.com - MSI R4850-T2D512 Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards instead of both, as it performs each badly!

But the Pentium D is going to bottleneck that GPU, so get the e2160, and overclock it (now before you say its slower than your Pentium D read this)
Common Noob Myths
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

he's on a dell, and can't overclock it. and i would say the board most likely doesn't support core 2 architecture so he's stuck with the pentium D.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

D'oh I didn't see the part where it said Dell...

But he's right, probably can't upgrade to the Core 2 Duo, probably not without a BIOS update

Also his PSU is probably not going to cut the HD 4850, he could upgrade it to those PC Power and Cooling Dell upgrade PSU's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

dell cases and psu's are proprietary down to the screws so it will be tough to pop in a normal atx psu into the dell.

also you can't bios upgrade if the bios is locked
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post

also you can't bios upgrade if the bios is locked
Yeah you can. They might provide BIOS updates via Dell's website, is what vernong means, lol. I did it on my HP PC a few months ago.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

hmm, i wasn't aware of that fact. well, then yeah check on the dell site with the OP's computer model and see if you can pop a core2duo chip in there.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yeah you can. They might provide BIOS updates via Dell's website, is what vernong means, lol. I did it on my HP PC a few months ago.
Ya thats what I meant, bad wording

Dell Upgrade Power Supplies from PC Power & Cooling

You can get upgrades from them
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: What is the issue is it my graphics card.

so then he can upgrade the psu, and gpu, and that should probably provide enough power to run AoC at respectable frames with decent enough settings.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 01:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Well in the case of all information you guys hooking me up with looks like im just going to custom build no sense in waiting anylonger get me the 280 or something with the new pentium core duo. Thanks for all the feedback :X.

I can build the computer and everything from scratch its the products im not allways sure of thanks guys if i need anymore help you will see me back on ehre.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Ok, ya its your GPU, it sucks, but your CPU is also pretty crappy too

Make the move to the 9600gt it'll work as its got a PCI-e port, and if you want upgrade that cruddy CPU to the e2160 or something, thats even a good upgrade too

or get this:
Newegg.com - MSI R4850-T2D512 Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards instead of both, as it performs each badly!

But the Pentium D is going to bottleneck that GPU, so get the e2160, and overclock it (now before you say its slower than your Pentium D read this)
Common Noob Myths

And yes i know my pen d sucks over a core duo :X
__________________

bigddonaldlee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Ships Radeon 4850 Graphics Card Puddle Jumper New Technology and Products 14 06-01-2008 09:51 PM
Updating Graphics Card...Advice? Shiinji System Upgrades 10 02-06-2008 03:44 PM
Graphics card problems (?) TommyGun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-28-2007 09:53 AM
Graphics card issue? superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-16-2007 08:57 AM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.