What is holding me back in games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2007, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default What is holding me back in games?

alright I was wondering when I play games purrdy much the max rez I can use is 1024x768 and even at that rez I still can't have any setting much over medium or I get horrible frame rate and my games are really choppy. I read somewhere that the Xbox 360's GPU is close to a nvidia 6800?? or something close to that, if thats true then why can't I have my games look anything close to games on the 360? I just got the newest Command & Conquer game (same as on 360) and even on the main page I get, if I am lucky 10FPS. So basically my question is why can't I have my games look and play as smooth or better as on the 360?
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

wait doesnt' command and conquer require like a 48mhz processor???

but if its a new game... i'm going to say its ur single-core cpu, might wanna opt for an opteron 165..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

ok so you think if I got a faster dual core that would help me out... for the Command & Conquer I have it say the min is 2.0 GHz (2.2GHz for Vista)
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

The Opteron 165 is 1.8GHz stock. But it is a very overclockable processor. That will help with the game, because I believe it supports multi-core processors.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

Definately get an opty 165, it will last you a good bit.
And yes i agree that your single core cpu is holding you back.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

ok thanks a lot
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
wait doesnt' command and conquer require like a 48mhz processor???
lol he said newest command and conquer game, not the original.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 08:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
lol he said newest command and conquer game, not the original.
oh lol
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 10:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD6415 View Post
alright I was wondering when I play games purrdy much the max rez I can use is 1024x768 and even at that rez I still can't have any setting much over medium or I get horrible frame rate and my games are really choppy. I read somewhere that the Xbox 360's GPU is close to a nvidia 6800?? or something close to that, if thats true then why can't I have my games look anything close to games on the 360? I just got the newest Command & Conquer game (same as on 360) and even on the main page I get, if I am lucky 10FPS. So basically my question is why can't I have my games look and play as smooth or better as on the 360?
acually 360 is more close to x1600 or x1800 as it is made by ATI called Xenos or "R500"
darksideleader is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 10:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: What is holding me back in games?

Odds are it is your GFX drivers causing you a problem. A 3500 is a good CPU... not the top, but not the bottom. Your GFX card is a good one as well, and you have plenty of RAM.

You might want to do some housekeeping, too. Defrag, adware/spyware scan, AV scan, registry cleaning/defrag...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what's holding my pc back? Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 33 08-22-2007 03:40 AM
Five Free Games for Geeks Osiris PC Gaming 2 07-31-2007 12:10 PM
""10 Reasons Why PS3 Will Win This Console Generation" - Insomniac Games Chief Creati TheEnd187 Sony Playstation 97 07-12-2007 07:52 AM
Games for the Weekend Online Boardgames Osiris PC Gaming 0 05-18-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.