What Graphics Card Can I use? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2007, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15
Default What Graphics Card Can I use?

Laptop:

Processor:
Intel® Pentium® M processor 715/725/730/735/740/745/750/755 (2M L2 cache, FSB400/533MHz)
Intel® Celeron®M processor 350/360/370 (1MB L2 cache, FSB400MHz)
Intel® Celeron® M processor 310/320/330/340 (512K L2 cache, FSB400MHz)

Operating System Compliance:
Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition
Core Logic
SIS M661GX + 963L

Memory:
Expansion 1 slot of 200pin SO-DIMM DDR module, expandable up to 1GB system memory
Support DDR 266/333/400 module

Video & Graphics:
Embedded in North bridge (SIS M661GX), Graphics Core Real256E
AGP 8X, SMA up to 64MB DDR SDRAM

Hard Drive:
2.5” 9.5mm height, ATA 66/100 supports

Optical Drive
5.25" 12.7mm CD-ROM, DVD-ROM, Combo (DVD-ROM+ CD-RW), DVD-Dual (DVD+/-RW), and Super Multi (DVD-RAM+DVD+/-RW)
Pointing Device
Synaptics touchpad
Application Launch Key

BIOS:
AMI, Support PnP, password

I wasn't sure what kind of information you'd need! I just want a graphics card good enough to run WoW, I don't play any other games, and reqs for it arn;t that high. Still I'm not sure if a ATI or Nvidia is what I need?
__________________

Ajay! is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

Embedded in North bridge (SIS M661GX), Graphics Core Real256E
AGP 8X, SMA up to 64MB DDR SDRAM
thats your graphics card, you cant change it
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

Yea, you can't change the graphics chip, in a laptop. It's embedded like peter said.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

yeah you can't change the graphics chip unless you change the motherboard which is advanced tech level for a home builder just because everything in a laptop is confined to the smallest amount of space possible
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

ive heard the big companies are now making upgradable lappys...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

That would be convient, for those who, don't want to buy a whole new laptop.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 12:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

laptops have always been upgradeable and asus have done barebone kits for ages but the components are expensive and you need to work out exact dimensions and place items in a certain order to fit its not worth the effort for the savings a desktop takes an hour to build at home for a newbie whilst a laptop may take a couple of days of just fiddling so that everything fits
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

FFS, I guess I'm screwed then.
Ajay! is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

you could try a flick book
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: What Graphics Card Can I use?

I dont think there can be much help here when it comes to labtops
________________________
Enermax Galaxy 1000W EGA1000EWL ATX2.2 Modular PSU.
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro 7.1 Soundcard.
Zalman Reserator2 Fanless Water Cooling System.
(2x) Seagate Cheetah 10K.7 300GB ST3300007LC 10,000RPM SCSI 8MB Cache (Ultra 320-SC2 80 Pin).
Crucial 16GB (4x4GB) DDR2 PC2-5300C5 Dual Channel Kit.
Asus Striker Extreme nForce 680 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Extreme Edition QX6800 "LGA775 Kentsfield" 2.93GHz
LiteOn LH-2B1S-490C 2x BD-R/RE Blu-Ray SATA DVD Writer
BFG GeForce 8800 GTX Extreme WaterCooled 768MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI
__________________

khan008 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
Graphics card issue? superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-16-2007 08:57 AM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.