What do you think of this dell? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2006, 02:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default What do you think of this dell?

i will be using it to download stuff,using my ipod with it,mp3s,video,nothing professional,surfing the web..what do you think of it

heres the specs of the one i put together

Dell Dimension E510 Series Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 630 w/HT Technology (3.0GHz,800FSB)

Operating System Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition

Memory 1GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz (2x512M)

Monitor 19 inch E196FP Analog Flat Panel

Video Card 256MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) ATI Radeon X600 SE HyperMemory

Hard Drive 250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™

Network Card Integrated Intel® PRO 10/100 Ethernet

CD or DVD Drive Single Drive: 16X CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW) w/double layer write capability

Sound Integrated Sound Blaster® Audigy® ADVANCED HD Audio
__________________

iamloco724 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

price? myself and others will reccomend not buying from Dell
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

comes to about 820 with tax and stuff..the only reason im going with dell is cause of what you get for the value everything else dont come with a flat monitor and with the stuff i want in there it always comes out to so much money
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

and me personally i think a pc is what you make of it everyone has a bad thing to say about every brand so i decided to go with best value..i think if you know how to maintain your pc you shouldnt have any out of the normal problems
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Very nice monitor ;-) I use it, it is awesome. Otherwise seems okay value, but you have to remember that upgrading parts in that will be virtually impossible...!

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

i dont see why i will be upgrading the pc thats why im trying to get everything i want in there now .. the one i have now i have had for like 6-7 years and all ive done is added ram and had to replace the hard drive..the only thing i will be doing to this pc is adding my current hard drive in there as a slave
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Yes yes, I'm not saying you'll have to, I'm just making a general point. I mean, if you don't need to upgrade it, then dell is fine really, you should go ahead if you are set on it.

I'm just saying that if you were to get a dell, you wouldn't really be able to upgrade it that much, not pointing it at you, but as a general point.

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

will i be able to add this hard drive to that pc..Western Digital Caviar 80 GB Hard Drive Standard - Internal - IDE / EIDE heres the documentation of this series
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 03:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc....htm#wp1052310 thats the specs on that series desktop
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 04:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah IDE drives will work but i don't see why you would want to use an IDE drive unless you already own it. if you are buying buy an SATA/SATAII
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.