What do you think of this config? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2006, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Default What do you think of this config?

Budget PC. Mostly gonna be using it for surfing the web and softcore gaming. Only gonna be keeping her for a year, so no need to spend a lot at all.


Cooler Master Case - $75 (before rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16811119094

Asus 939 socket mobo - $80
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16813131569

eVGA 7600GT - $170 (before rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130283

Thermaltake 430W PSU - $40 (before rebate)
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817153023

AMD Athlon 3000+ - $88
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16819103537

Corsair 512MBx2 - $90
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820145440

Seagate 80GB - $48
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16822148107

Lite-On DVDRW - $40
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16827106256

Everything looks pretty much compatible to me, but I would appreciate it if you guys look it over a bit.
__________________

newton is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

For the CPU.. check the prices out as of tomorrow...
http://images.dailytech.com/nimage/2...icing_1023.png

other than that, looks like a pretty good budget PC.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Wow, does the price change affect all those CPUs sold anywhere? What's the reason behind it?
newton is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Yes it's every where, and it's due to INTEL's Conroe coming out soon.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.