What do you think - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2006, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default What do you think

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
MOBO: ASUS P5W DH
RAM: G.Skill 2GB
GPU: Sapphire X1900XT
HDD: 2 of these in RAID 0 (600GB)
PSU: Silverstone 560W
Acer 19" WS 5ms

BTW i need to lower the price of this system by about 2-300 dollars

I will not be overclocking if that helps
__________________

niko1 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

nice, but i would use a better psu brand like antec, their 500Ws and up are very powerful.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It's a pretty nice system, but if you want to lower it by $2-300....maybe an E6400 instead and cancel the other hard drive?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
nice, but i would use a better psu brand like antec, their 500Ws and up are very powerful.
Silverstone is just as good if not better than Antec.

Do you already have a case?
turtile is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 11:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default

drop the hard drive would be my sugestion. I prefer antec for the power supply. I've never had a problem with them.
__________________
Tech TV is Back!
www.dl.tv
-- watch it, its good stuff.
-------------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Powered by: Antec Earth Watts
-------------------------------
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee pc ..
i wish i could afford buy one myslef !
but 600GB ??
u wont need that much plus .. it will kinda make ur pc slow , and think about the defragment time (wooooow)!
__________________
plz god .. if u cant make me thin ..
make all my friends very fat !
JinkX is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 01:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236
Default

Well if you want to lose 200-300 bucks then lose 1 of the hard drives (300GB is more than enough).

Downgrade your processor to the e6300 (I have both the e6300 and the e6600, granted the e6600 is better, but the e6300 is still amazingly fast, and when overclocked it can crush an AMD FX-62!).

And if you still need to save more after that, consider the x1900GT for your VGA (or a 7900GT) both are great cards and will see you through till Direct X 10 with ease.
__________________

Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I dont really wanna switch the processor.

I have not gotten the case yet, could anyone recommend something?

Also, Has anyone had a problem with the duo and the mobo i picked?


I am also going to RAID the hardrives so i need to hold on to them.
niko1 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

The Acer WS is NICE, I have it(in my sig) its super nice.
Ksingler is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

how much?
__________________

niko1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.