what do u think of..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2006, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10
Default what do u think of.....

what do u think if this HD?


i know its not the fastest im probally just gonna use this one for storing all my songs,games, and movies then get a faster one for other things

would i need a external enclosure if im gonna put it into my case any way? how would i mount this into my case with out and enclosure?



trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon

I don't know about using no-name hard drives... I would stick with Western Digital or Seagate.

You get what you pay for.

Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303

yea... you could get a wd hd of the same size for only 10 bucks more
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to trevor_clay_10

where can i get the WD HD that KryptoKnight was talking about?
trevor_clay_10 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486

I think this is what he is talking about.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333

You don't need a external enclosure, Inside your case will be a spot to mount it.

DBD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.