What do I need to watch DVDs, and I need a printer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default What do I need to watch DVDs, and I need a printer

ok I was wondering I have my 27in TV right by my computer and I was wondering what would I need to be able to watch DVDs on my TV? Would I be able to watch them in HD?
also my mom needs a new printer can you think of any good ones that won't cost a ton? printer with a scanner/copier is what she is looking for, I know nothing about printers, thanks
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

The tv is easy just depends on your video card and high-def in tv's is bad resolution compared to a computer monitor
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default

I have a ATI X1900GT, could I just use a DVI-HDMI? what would I need to get the DVD to play on my TV since I can't watch DVDs on my PC? a program or what? thanks
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 05:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

download vlc player it is free and will play almost every type of video available. Well there may be an adapter but HDMI is basicly Dvi with an extra cable for sound so are there any other inputs on your tv???

Matt
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default

this is what I have
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv2.jpg (26.2 KB, 10 views)
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

you can use a scart lead which im guessing youve got as my 8800gts has one
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.