What Do I Need For Video Editing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2006, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default What Do I Need For Video Editing

I have a question regarding video editing. I got Roxio Easy Media Creator 8 for beginning to edit videos. It runs slow however. I was wondering what is it that would be causing it to run slow. I believe it is the CPU. Am I right? My specs are:

-Pentium 4 3.0 GHz Proccessor
-Geforce 7800 GS

What CPU should I get for fast video editing, so it doesn't make small pauses, but also so I can play games good?

Also, while I made this thread I might as well ask this question. Is there any cables that are iLink to USB? I think it is called iLink. Because, I have a cable for importing videos, but it is for a firewire port. I don't have a firewire port, so is there another solution?

Thanks in advance.

xtpacygax is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

.. i thought ilink was same thing as firewire..

"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238

I don't know what it is, but it is for transfering videos. One end goes into the camcorder where it says hdv/dv and the other end is a firewire cable. But, can someone please answer my question about the video editing lag, it is very important.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Bulldog
zmatt's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660

for multi media editing go dual core, to save some cash you can go ahead with an intel dual core, the pentiumD 820 or 830 should do you good. its not as powerful as AthlonX2 but it will be plenty.

<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238

Too bad I have an AGP motherboard, and I just spent over 3,000 dollars on camcorder stuff. There is no way I can get that proccessor, since I would have to get a new video card and motherboard as well. Thanks though. But I was wondering, with the CPU I have now, when everything in the background is turned off except for my firewall and other small programs, shouldn't I be able to run the video editing software ok? Because mine freezes up once in a while, and it is near impossible to work with. Could there be another reason for the horrible amount of "lag" and freezing?
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686

That CPU looks like it should run it fine, not the fastest of course but decently.
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238

Then any ideas of what is going on? Does it matter that my dad put the video files on a dvd and then I put them on my computer instead of using the cable (I can't use the cable because I have no firewire port)? Will it effect me if I am using HDV video instead of DV, like does HDV cause a difference in performance while video editing?
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156

Your hardware is fine for video editing. But more importantly check what you are editing as their different rendering of video files.

If your are rendering or saving files as HDV (High Defition Video), that will strain your computers guts hard. Also it depends on how your editing it. If your shipping in media files to the editor that is 50 minutes long and high quality video trying to peice together a 3 hour movie, your computer isn't going to handle it all to well.

Try to edit sections of movie in peices then glue it together at the end of production. You just have be aware of the compression and file sizes your editing, also look at getting a better program. Roxio isn't great for good editing, see if you can get a program called Vegas made by SonicFoundry or even the Apple Imovie. Even the Adobe Afteraffects program is great for editing.
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 06:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238

Thanks I will look into those.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 08:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54

what sort of hard drives do you have?

AthlonXp 2100+
ECS L7VTA mobo
Enermax EG425P-VE
2 x 512MB DDR400 Geil Value Ram (w/blue hs)
NVidia GeForce4 MX 420
Seagate Barracuda 120GB, 7200Rpm, 8MB buffer (pata),
Seagate Barracuda 160GB, 7200Rpm, 8MB buffer (sata-ncq)
BTC1108IM dvd writer (8X)
Aopen 1648 dvd-rom
sunbeam fanbus controller
Philips 190X5 19\'\' LCD monitor 12ms
alsyed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.