What do I need to game at max setting and 4K? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2015, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Hi all,

I went abit mad today and bought a 4K monitor.
I'm wondering what I might need to change to make the most of this purchase on latest games?
I'm thinking I might need some extra graphic power but would love some advice from others who already game at 4K.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Depends on the game...

Most likely going to need a GPU from the future though, because there isn't really much that can push 4k @ max yet, I believe .
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 05:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Go forward in time about 3 years is your best option
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Yup. Closest thing to "max" 4k in higher AAA games would be 3 980s.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this build be able to run any game on max settings? blackhawk89 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-22-2012 08:37 PM
Best NES Game? Best SNES? Best Gamecube game? Best Wii Game? sudden0utburst Nintendo 12 11-05-2011 02:50 PM
Technical Question on PSP setting, Fireteam Bravo 2 game demob05 Sony Playstation 1 03-22-2007 02:53 PM
Jumper Setting on Diamond Max 10 SATA mclarko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-27-2006 04:58 AM
Max out game settings arlis4x PC Gaming 1 03-09-2006 09:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.