What do I need to game at max setting and 4K? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2015, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Default What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Hi all,

I went abit mad today and bought a 4K monitor.
I'm wondering what I might need to change to make the most of this purchase on latest games?
I'm thinking I might need some extra graphic power but would love some advice from others who already game at 4K.

PC Specs:

Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

Spud5437 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,120
Default Re: What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Depends on the game...

Most likely going to need a GPU from the future though, because there isn't really much that can push 4k @ max yet, I believe .

Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
iParanormal's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 813
Default Re: What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Go forward in time about 3 years is your best option
iParanormal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
PP Mguire's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,031
Default Re: What do I need to game at max setting and 4K?

Yup. Closest thing to "max" 4k in higher AAA games would be 3 980s.
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire

Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this build be able to run any game on max settings? blackhawk89 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-22-2012 07:37 PM
Best NES Game? Best SNES? Best Gamecube game? Best Wii Game? sudden0utburst Nintendo 12 11-05-2011 01:50 PM
Technical Question on PSP setting, Fireteam Bravo 2 game demob05 Sony Playstation 1 03-22-2007 01:53 PM
Jumper Setting on Diamond Max 10 SATA mclarko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-27-2006 03:58 AM
Max out game settings arlis4x PC Gaming 1 03-09-2006 08:39 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.