What do I do if I run out of available LED power supplies? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 10:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default What do I do if I run out of available LED power supplies?

As I was building my computer I was unsure of where to plug in the LEDs. I spoke to someone over AIM that had experience building computers, and he instructed me that there is a universal set of pins in the lower right corner of my motherboard that are designed for things like that.

I plugged in all of the LED's and whatnot, because the front of my tower has two blue headlights.

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y36...ed/msimobo.jpg

There's a pic of my mobo, the area with the red stuff around it is where I was told to plug these jobbies in at.

Question is, I filled them up and I have no where to plug in the two USB ports + audio port on the side of the case. It's not like I need them, I'm just curious if I have an option as to where to plug them in so those ports can receive power. If I have to sacrifice LED's for them, no big deal, I'm just trying to understand my limitations as far as where I can and can't plug stuff in to receive power. Half of these things on the mobo I'm not even sure about yet, which is why I ask here before toying around with it.
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the USB ports and the audio go into the yellow box, next to it, i was wondering what happened to mines, that looks almost like my mobo.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
the USB ports and the audio go into the yellow box, next to it, i was wondering what happened to mines, that looks almost like my mobo.
Now, that yellow box next to it to me looked like it was set for a standard plug. I wasn't sure if I'd create problems just mixing and matching other pin-plugs of different sizes in there to receive power.

But I assume this is really where they go?? Isn't the 2nd yellow box on the other side of the first for the same thing?
Jayce is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

thats what it is on my mobo. if you look at it from the picture, it is the one right above the LED connectors. ill show you a pic of my manual where it tells me
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
thats what it is on my mobo. if you look at it from the picture, it is the one right above the LED connectors. ill show you a pic of my manual where it tells me
I see you have the MSI K8N NEO2. Mine is the NEO4. Just so ya know...

If you can show me a pic in the manual, that'd be great.
Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.