What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2007, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11
Default What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed?

My BIOS settings indicate my CPU Speed is 3.0GhZ but the clock speed shows 266MHz (max). What is the difference between the two and how can I make sure I have reached the maximum speed for my CPU? I have an intel Pentium 4 (Northwood) model SL6WK which has a FSB of 800MHz. Also, separate topic but related...DDR in BIOS settings shows 333MHz...I have a DDR2 PC5300 memory type.

fcui21 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 11:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed?

The speed for the SL6WK is 3.0GHz. It is suppose to run at 800MHz FSB. Dunno about the 266. Download and run CPU-Z. Take a screenshot and post it here.

DDR2 PC5300 is also known as DDR2-667. It has an I/O bus clock of 333MHz, which is correct with what you're showing us.


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: What is the difference between CPU speed and Clock speed?

266MHz is the speed of the bus, as Intel are Quad Pumped, so effectively makes 266X4 = ~1066MHz which maximum (theoretical) your processor can have. but, yours is Northwood, and they had 200Mhz (200Mhz x 4 = 800Mhz FSB). your motherboard has capability of speeds up to 1066MHz (266 x 4) as told before.

now CPU speeds are calculated by the Clock and Multiplier, like in your case, your CPU is showing 3GHz (3000/200 = 15) or 200Mhz (FSB) x 15 (Multiplier) = 3000Mhz / 3Ghz

Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increase minimum clock speed in laptop jeffmorse Overclocking and Modding 8 08-30-2007 10:45 AM
GPU Core Clock Speed? AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 19 08-27-2007 01:46 PM
X1950XT 256MB speed. krazieaznboi New Systems | Building and Buying 43 08-14-2007 09:49 AM
clock help rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 1 08-10-2007 01:55 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.