What DDR3 Memory upgrades will work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2011, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default What DDR3 Memory upgrades will work?

Hey all. I have the current hardware:

CPU: Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz Kensington quad core processer 775
Motherboard: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R rev 2.0
Graphics Card: NVIDIA 8800GT 512MB
Sound Card: SoundBlaster
Memory: Corsair XMS2 DDR2 (2 sticks at 1MB each for a total of 2GB)

My question is that I would like to upgrade the RAM. The motherboard supports either 4 sticks of DDR2, or 2 sticks of DDR3. DDR3 seems fairly cheap now but im not sure what would actually work with my motherboard/CPU combination. I have Windows Vista on a 64 bit platform, and I belive the maximum it (the motherboard) can handle is 4MB of DDR3. Has anyone actually tried DDR3 with this motherboard (p35 chipset) and CPU combination. I have a good friend who does some pretty high level Rand D for a major manufacturer and he basically said he doesnt know if it would actually work, and to find someone who has actually plugged in specific RAM before buying. Thanks.
__________________

lookoutbelow84093 is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: What DDR3 Memory upgrades will work?

poking around a bit online (I don't have any personal experience with it) looks like it'll work. You're correct in that it will max out at 4gb of ddr3, but the q6600 will work with ddr3. worst case scenario is you buy ram and if it doesn't work, you lose 10% for restocking fee, but as long as it's on the supported memory list on the gigabyte site for that board I don't foresee any problems.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: What DDR3 Memory upgrades will work?

Yeah I checked the supported memory list from gigabyte it just seems really limited. I was hoping to get 2 sticks of 2mb each for 4mb total.
http://us.test.giga-byte.com/FileLis...c-ds3r_2.0.pdf
lookoutbelow84093 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Much DDR3 memory do I really Need? stuperprohero New Systems | Building and Buying 13 01-03-2010 06:58 PM
Corshair DDR3 memory issue uneeb83 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-29-2009 04:54 AM
Whats the best ddr3 memory Asylum Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-06-2009 02:26 PM
Geil lauches new DDR3 EVO ONE memory modules thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 1 04-05-2009 02:48 PM
DDR3 Memory: Technology Explained - by benchmarkreviews Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 33 11-30-2008 04:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.