what can my power supply handle? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2007, 03:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: what can my power supply handle?

Running a PSU nearly at its max capacity isn't recommended IMO
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 04:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: what can my power supply handle?

how big of a performance difference would it make to put the os+games on two of those hdds with RAID 0?
__________________

Mike9182 is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 04:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: what can my power supply handle?

Well loading times would be extremely fast with 4gb DDR2 and a RAID 0 setup, thats for sure.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 04:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: what can my power supply handle?

The 8800 GT actually requires less power than a lot cards out now. It only wants 400w and 26A. I'm guessing it probably has a lower power requirement than his old 7800 does.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 06:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: what can my power supply handle?

is there any benchies prooving so lol, if so il pick one up for sure.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 06:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: what can my power supply handle?

EVGA | Products
400w psu with 22A for a single card
450w psu with 24A for SLI mode.
Note, this is for the SSC version which is the highest clocked version.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.