what can I upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2012, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default what can I upgrade?

I have a Dell XPS 8300, i7 2.4 ghz, 8 gigs of DDR3 ram, not sure what the make is or speed, guessing its a pretty average low budget ram as it came from dell. I have thrown in a OCZ 850 watt PSU thats been running perfectly for 6 months or so now, and went through a few video cards till I found the 560 ti worked best for my needs.

Now my question is will getting faster ram, or a faster hard drive improve anything gaming wise? Use it for Secondlife which is probably the most graphic intensive thing I do with it, everything else is light little games. I cant do much to upgrade the computer itself save for the ram and hard drive, the motherboard... well not planning on gutting a dell case to try and squeeze a new mother board in.
__________________

thunderdome is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Just Epic.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: London
Posts: 579
Default Re: what can I upgrade?

are there loading screens etc. on secondlife. I bought an ssd and the loading times on skyrim are like 1 second or less, they used to be around 5 seconds. Plus my pc boots up a lot quicker, i think anyone here will tell you an ssd is a good upgrade to make.
__________________

__________________
- EVGA GTX 780 - I5 2500K @ 4.5GHz
- Corsair H100 - Asus Sabertooth P67
- Corsair TX850 - 2 x 2TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.14
- 120GB Corsair Force 3 - Windows 7 64 bit
- Arctic Silver 5 - Black NZXT Phantom
- Linksys WMP600n - Some random Samsung DVD drive

Sennheiser HD598s, over ear Momentum and Fiio e17
Crossfire 27" 1440p monitor
Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 - Cyanogen
HTC One Black 32gb - Android Revolution HD
Samsung Galaxy Tab pro 8.4 - Cyanogen
Mischa is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 84
Default Re: what can I upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mischa View Post
are there loading screens etc. on secondlife. I bought an ssd and the loading times on skyrim are like 1 second or less, they used to be around 5 seconds. Plus my pc boots up a lot quicker, i think anyone here will tell you an ssd is a good upgrade to make.
There are a multitude of different sims, like islands, so when you go to one it needs to load up, and that usually happens pretty quickly. Its all online though, none of that is actually on my computer. I have a fast connection at 30 mbps.
thunderdome is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade CPU/RAM or to not upgrade? relikpL System Upgrades 10 12-03-2010 02:42 AM
To upgrade parts or to upgrade a whole new rig? Bekay523 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-07-2010 01:27 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.