what can i get for 2k - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2006, 04:13 PM   #21 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

LOL, I guess I read your mind.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 05:06 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by defzeppelin
Why do you guys always choose AMD processors.


Graphics card you can get two XFX GeForce 6800GS..they are pretty much the 2nd best GFX cards on the market ATM.
ith the lowest latencies.

Good monitor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16824001070
1. AMD is best for gaming, its been proven by benchmarks
2. get a single x1900 xt or xtx, with a $2000 budget, two 6800 is stupid. One its not the best card, and getting two of the non-best, thats bad use of money. Get one really good one, x1900.
3. he has a monitor
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 05:35 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by defzeppelin
Why do you guys always choose AMD processors.
PERSONALLY, I prefer AMD processors. They are the underdog, as Intel was in a race for getting the highest GHz processors, AMD took their time to make their CPU's more powerful while at the same time CONSUMING LESS power, and achieving marks similar to those of higher GHz Intel chips... Also, from reviews I have seen (haven't had an intel CPU since my PII 650E Slot 1) Intel chips are prone to overheating...

EDIT: Intel CPU's are better for multi-tasking, like when your encoding video, while doing a virus scan, while compressing HUGE files....

I get most of my info from the followin 3 sources
http://tomshardware.com
http://anandtech.com
http://hardocp.com <--- GREAT for OEM system reviews


Quote:
Originally posted by defzeppelin
I would get two 74GB WD Raptors and put them in RAID zero. This will be used for your OS and most used games/programs. Put the OS on one decently sized partition for OS, and another for the games, ect. Then get a nice storage drive, maybe you can get the new 500gb HD out there.
I dunno about this.... IMO, Western Digital Drives have cause me nothing but trouble (never tried Raptor series), so I am STRICTLY Seagate. I have about 1 Terabyte (collective) worth of Seagate drives in different PC's, and haven't had a SINGLE problem with them.

RAID 0 - I wouldn't.... you lose 1 drive, you lose EVERYTHING in the Array. I would have to say that for casual gamers / PC users, there isn't much need for any RAID. If RAID is something wanted, I would check out RAID 0 + 1.... I am not to familiar with it myself, but my guess would be it is a combo of Raid 0 & Raid 1. lol

If you DO look into the WD Raptor for HDD's, I hear they have a (fairly) new 150 Gig 10,000 RPM Sata drive. I have read reviews about the 74 Gig raptors getting blisteringly hot in SFF (Small Form Factor) cases withough active cooling on them, not sure how the 150 Gig drives would hold up.


EDIT 2: Again, something I haven't had the pleasure of using, but I have seen quite a few reviews... Seems that the cost of running an SLI set up is just not justified unless you are using MULTIPLE monitors.... there is the initial cost of the additional Video card, as well as more power consumption.... yeah, it wouldn't be much, but it is cumulative...
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 10:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Yeah, get the mobo i recommended and not the crossfire one, whats the point in getting integrated graphics if your going to get a high-end graphics card?

Oh and Ethereal_Dragon, have you had problems with more then just one Western Digital H/D?
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:07 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Yup.... BUNCH of different drives too.... 8 Gig drives, 20 Gig drives, and an 80 Gig drive. My good friend had similar problems... EVERY drive that was RMA'd failed within 4-8 weeks. Said forget it, switch to Seagate, and NOT A PROBLEM since then, and that was YEARS ago.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
Yup.... BUNCH of different drives too.... 8 Gig drives, 20 Gig drives, and an 80 Gig drive. My good friend had similar problems... EVERY drive that was RMA'd failed within 4-8 weeks. Said forget it, switch to Seagate, and NOT A PROBLEM since then, and that was YEARS ago.
Really, I'm surprised, I like WD a lot, they're a **** of a lot better than maxtor thats for sure.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

^^^ LOL! Yeah they are.... Maxtor is pretty much bottom of the food chain IMO.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 02-03-2006, 11:32 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Having raid zero is nice, you really have to be careful of what your doing though. Raid 1+0 is a lot better... if you want to spend $1000 in harddrives
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.