What can I do with this system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 117
Default What can I do with this system

Re-wording of the other question.

We have a Compaq Presario 5000, bought over six years ago, even after reloading the entire system every couple months, is doesn't run that well, getting slower over time, would at least like it to run like it did when first purchased, too many errors, slow.

Is there anything that can be done for $50.00 or less to help the system run better?

What would make the computer be slowing over time, something is getting old.

Pentium III
863 MHz
128 MB of Ram

Windows Xp Professional

I was reading that Windows Xp Professional should have 256 ram or better, since we only have 128 ram would that cause any problems?

Thanks
__________________

Tisoraku is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Adding more RAM would make a noticable difference, but on a machine that old it could be expensive.

This machine is old enough that you need to ask yourself if it is worth investing more money on parts that you will not be able to use in a newer machine.
__________________

dcc is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

what could you do with this machine? Well winter is around the corner, not sure how well metal burns but the wires inside should burn long enough to give you heat :/

Like the previous post said, with a system that old, do you REALLY want to upgrade it? Or would you rather just get a replacement, computers are really cheap these days.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

One thing you could do is use Windows 2000, or continue using XP with an extra 256MB RAM added into it.

Right now, you're using XP with the absolute minimum requirements.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Get a new hard drive.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
what could you do with this machine? Well winter is around the corner, not sure how well metal burns but the wires inside should burn long enough to give you heat :/
Too toxic.

Quote:
Like the previous post said, with a system that old, do you REALLY want to upgrade it?
Only option right now.

Quote:
Or would you rather just get a replacement, computers are really cheap these days.
I would rather buy a new computer, it's not in the budget anytime soon, so we have to make due with a possible update. Seeing what I can update for $50.00 or less.

Quote:
One thing you could do is use Windows 2000, or continue using XP with an extra 256MB RAM added into it.

Right now, you're using XP with the absolute minimum requirements.
I always thought that was a problem, I want to go to a 512 ram, that is the most this computer can be updated.



What brand of ram is the best to buy, or the best cheapest there is?


Quote:
Get a new hard drive.
How much would that run?
Tisoraku is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 02:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Actually 64mibs is the minimum requirement of XP. I know - I tried it.

CPU is OK, just get some RAM, a 256 stick shouldn't be too expensive. Otherwise folding?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Yeah look for a 256mb stick and pop it in...should help a bit...also make sure your PC is free of spyware

But PLEASE upgrade as soon as you get the chance...that PC is ancient.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tisoraku

How much would that run?
$45 for a new 80GB
turtile is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
CPU is OK, just get some RAM, a 256 stick shouldn't be too expensive. Otherwise folding?
How about a 512?
What brand would I buy for a Compaq presario 5000?

Quote:
Yeah look for a 256mb stick and pop it in...should help a bit...also make sure your PC is free of spyware
I run scans often, and reload the computer every couple months.

Quote:
But PLEASE upgrade as soon as you get the chance...that PC is ancient.
What makes it worse is it was never the top model when it was bought, at least want it to run like it used to until we can buy a new computer.
__________________

Tisoraku is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.