What brands are best for laptops? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2006, 06:14 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/

Macs are upgradable, it just takes time and effort to do so.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Mac/

Macs are upgradable, it just takes time and effort to do so.
Pretty cool site, I never knew the motherboards were soo tiny.
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:35 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah I know, I read about Macbook Pros having excessive thermal paste, and that reapplying AS5 can reduce heat by up to 12c! So I read through the guide and the motherboard was way tiny.

I haven't opened up my laptop yet, but I reckon I will eventually.

See look at all that goop:

http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/85/image..._logic_top.jpg
The General is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

I'm hoping to find a deal on one, usually around christmas is when people start trying to sell some of their stuff, or when people are moving overseas or going to Iraq (military town). Though I wish I could just build my own, but even thats expensive too.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I imagine that when the C2D Macbook Pros come out, lots of people will be selling their Core Duo ones.

(Me! )
The General is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

You might not need to if Apple releases a BIOS update to be compatible with merom. Just ask, someone already did regarding Toshiba, the apple hardware should already be compatible, merom is using the same socket.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...t=toshiba+a105
http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/t...ngdgnn.0&ct=DL
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 07:03 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

The CPU is soldered to the motherboard.
The General is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 07:15 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Cool, Apple designed them and Asustek built them. Two great companies. Waste of money? I think not. Find a "PC" laptop with the same features as a MacBook Pro, for the same price or less, that isn't a flimsy plastic piece of crap. Nice generalization too: If the laptop is made by Toshiba or Asus, you can stick a Core 2 Duo in them. Nope. Incorrect. MacBook Pros - remove a few screws, put bigger harddrive in, ram, etc. But as any sane person knows - you don't upgrade laptops. It's as simple as that. You get a laptop that suits your needs, and when it stops suiting your needs you sell it to someone with less needs, and buy a new one.

Sorry you had to go and post your flamebait, but I think I did pretty well in not flaming.

...Any sane person CAN upgrade ram quite easily.

Changing hard drive, you got a video tutorial on Cnet .

And I don't find alot of laptops a flimsy plastic piece...why? Well even if my 98 Toshiba is still working quite well, handling Windows XP Prof.

Anyways....I don't know what feature apple laptops offer that pc is far away from aside from the built in camera, but that's it.

Then again I dont know much about laptops.
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 08:13 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

You can get a faster alienware for the price of an Apple. I don’t understand where all your money is going in those things. I would say Ibuypower is a good brand if you don’t mind non big name brands. Toshiba has cheap pre built systems that are good as well. If you want an all around computer from a big name company I would go HP. Dells seam ok but there components are cheap and there built like crap.

I would strongly recommend staying away from Apple of all things. They are way over priced, upgradeability is limited and everything apple is overpriced as well. For pure power to price ratio an apple computer falls way short. There quality might be slightly better then others (not all) but it doesn’t justify the price tag by any means.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Conroe
From what I understand the X1300 uses 64 onboard and 64 system "hypermemory". The X1400 (at least from what i understand) has 128 megs onboard and uses 128 system. Its like 1/4 th the power of a 7900GT but still plays basically any game out there with reasonable settings. Im not a huge gamer so it should serve me well

If im wrong please let me know.
Okay it looks like you're right, the x1400s I saw at Dell all had a 128/128 split for the memory. I was justing looking at their site 3 or 4 weeks ago and I swear that wasn't the case, even the 1400 only had 64mb dedicated. Just make sure this is the case when you buy your lappy, click the "learn more" button and it'll give youa break down of your choices including memory.
The x1400 is a midrange card as far as laptop graphics go, there are some slower options and some faster ones. Should be fine as long as you're not trying to run Fear or Oblivion totally maxed. Just make sure oyu shop around at a few other places to guarentee you're getting the best price. I'd check HP, ABS and Avadirect and see if you can get the same thing for less there.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.