Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2007, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

As my title says the amount of money i was planning to have this year has been cut short as i have lost one of my mowing jobs. So untill next year i'm wanting to make my rig last as long as possible.

At the moment i'm running on an old P4 3.0 Prescott w/1GB of RAM and an FX5200. I also have my Opteron 144 in my closet since the board screwed up.

So i'm thinking right now just to pick up a good price/performance AGP (or PCIe) card to last me the rest of the year. I dont play much games when it comes to variety but i do play Counter Strike Source and Dawn of War alot.

But, anyway, i'm looking for suggestions on either getting a new AGP card or a new board for my Opty and a decent PCIe card to last me the rest of the year.

My limit is $200 to 250.

Oh and if i can get my hands on an A8N5X i'll use it for my Opty.
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

I Recommend This Mobo :
Newegg.com - ABIT AT8 32X Socket 939 ATI CrossFire Radeon Xpress 3200 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
and this video card :
Newegg.com - JetWay X19PR-ED-256M Radeon X1950PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default Re: Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

slight problem, i've NEVER found an ATI chipset board that is compatible with an Opteron and i'm not to trust worthy of that company the way it is.
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

socket 939... should work
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 01:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default Re: Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

sadly i wish that were true, but not every CPU is compatible with every chipset, and since the Opteron is a server CPU most desktop boards dont even support them. Even if other baords with the same chipset support them it may not have the right code in the BIOS to support it
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

oh yea forgot, i think opertons are socket 940 right?
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 12:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default Re: Well...my forcasted money supply has been cut short

Yes....most of them...The Opteron 1 series (as far as i know all of the 1 series) were produced on Socket 939 and most motherboards such as the DFI Lanparty series had unofficial support for them but, since most of those boards are running scarce its hard to find one that supports them now.

The Socket 940 was an actual server socket, and in some cases was able to run dual CPU's which the Socket 939 was incapable of (sadly).
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test to see if new power supply bad? darsunt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 04-06-2007 11:57 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.