weird ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2006, 12:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default weird ram

so i decided to upgrade to 1.5gigs of ddr400 since i have 3 slots on my mobo. The weird thing is that when i put 2 sticks to make 1 gig everything is fine, and as soon as i stick in the 3rd stick my computer boots up but anything i do, the hard drive shuts down and restarts... is it the problem with my mobo then?
__________________

__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Are those sticks compatible with your mobo?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

yea 100%
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

are all three sticks same? as if yes, is your motherboard Dual-Channel compatible? as if yes? are you on latest BIOS (recommended is a version lower than latest).

as in case of dual channel, your 2X sticks are making dual-link, hat is understood, but third is conflicting (which it shouldnt have).
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 180
Default

well had originally 512 of kingston ddr 400 value ram, then last week bought 1 gig of ram and bought a kingston value ram pack which is also dd 400 pc 3200. CPUZ says the orignal first ram has a faster latencz than others, which is weird since theyre both value ram. Also i checked and the old ram happens to be bigger than the other ones which is very odd? whats going on
__________________
Furby:
2500k @ 4.5Ghz max: 81C idle 33C
8 gigs ddr 3 Kingston Hyper x T1 @ 1600mhz
Asus P8P67Pro b3.1
Evga GeForce gtx 560 at 940mhz 1gbddr5
western digital black 1tb sata3
Viewsonic 22"
Windows 7 home premium 64bit
beluga is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Bigger? it might be Dual-Sided and Single Sided, which of course makes some problems. you should have bought all 3 same model numbers. Although I am using Kingston since my First PC, and never had any problems with this, but Model Number does makes difference, specially the latency.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 12:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 211
Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyX
Default

Yes you need to get the same CAS Latency and dont worry about dual channel, Your RAM wont run in dual channel mode with your 754..
__________________

__________________
The enemy of my enemy might just be my enemy¬Ö
JohnnyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.