WD 150gb Raptor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default WD 150gb Raptor

I just bought a 150gb SATA raptor HDD in hopes of repairing my computer. I am totally new when it comes to SATA, Ive been working with IDE my whole life, so I just had a few questions about these jumper settings. Could anyone explain these jumper settings a bit more indetail (i.e what it does), the manual gives very little info.

SSC Enabled - Spread spectrum clocking enabled

PM2 Enabled - PM2 enabled, controlled spinup via spinup command.

OPT1 Enabled - 150 Mb/s data transfer speed enabled.

This drive is going to be my master drive, so which setting should I use for the jumper? Im assuming OPT1?
__________________

Difolo is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: WD 150gb Raptor

What do you mean by "in hopes of repairing my computer"? What happened to it? I'm just wondering so yeah. Well anywho, I think it is suppose to be master already.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: WD 150gb Raptor

Just leave it at the default setting, there's no need for jumper setting on SATA and plug it into port 0. The only time I can think of it is when you buy a SATAII and your motherboard only support SATAI, then you need to set the jumper on the SATAII hard drive so it would work.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: WD 150gb Raptor

Oh sorry what I meant by in hopes of repairing my computer is I believe the primary IDE port on my mobo died. So Im hoping to get around that with a SATA interface.
Difolo is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: WD 150gb Raptor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Difolo View Post
Oh sorry what I meant by in hopes of repairing my computer is I believe the primary IDE port on my mobo died. So Im hoping to get around that with a SATA interface.
Oh got you now since you explained it more clearly. Well when I bought my Seagate 300GB S-ATA there was a jumper, and I took it off because it was the settings to increase the data search to 3.0gb/s.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: WD 150gb Raptor

Ya I gotta get a seagate for my slave, this 150 wont do me much good, but its fast! This WD just chewed through windows XP setup in a maybe just over 1-2 minutes.....if that. I love it! Gotta get another and Raid 0!
Difolo is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: WD 150gb Raptor

Sorry I meant formatting the Drive, not quick version and doing whatever windows does in 1-2 mins, not a complete xp install.
__________________

Difolo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Think they gave me a Raptor X Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2007 05:03 PM
Raptor Hard Drive Eric1 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-18-2007 04:08 PM
Bought the Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,000RPM pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 06-01-2007 01:06 AM
Should I add a raptor to my build? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-26-2007 01:52 PM
1 Raptor Or 2 Barracuda? konvick619 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-17-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.