Wanting to upgrade everything - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2006, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Default Wanting to upgrade everything

Ok, heres my situation. I have a 3 year old HP computer with 504mb ram, 40gb HD, 2.4 ghz processor, 64mb video card. Would it be possible at all to upgrade my ram up to 1gig or 2gig and would it be possible to upgrade the video card to either 256 or 512mb? Im just curious if my computer would freak out from all the power going into, or would it reject that much power or anything?
__________________

erglae411 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea you can upgrade to 1-2gb ram and 256-512mb card. Your probably going to have to get a more powerful PSU. What is your budget? Also what is your system? AMD, Intel (I'm assuming Intel)? And which socket?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Yea you can upgrade to 1-2gb ram and 256-512mb card. Your probably going to have to get a more powerful PSU. What is your budget? Also what is your system? AMD, Intel (I'm assuming Intel)? And which socket?

It's probably a 2.4Ghz Celeron.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 05:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Also, what socket is your CPU? 478? A? 754? 939? 775?

What slot is your graphics card? PCI? AGP? PCI-E?

What type is your RAM? DDR? DDR2?

While those questions sound confusing, they're really not.

CPU- is it Intel, or AMD? What speed and type? you said 2.4, but is it P4 or Celeron? If it is AMD, a 2.4 translates into a 3400+ in a socket 754, or a 3800+ in a socket 939.

Graphics card- download and run Everest (you can get it from majorgeeks.com). It should tell you. Or just open up the side of your case and look at it. PCI will be exactly like the other slots below it. AGP is normally brom and sits further from the rear edge. PCI-E sits further back, and is usually white.

RAM- Everest will tell you. 478, 754, and 939 all use DDR. 775 uses DDR2.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.