Want to upgrade macbook ram to 8GB with Crucial product, will Apple know and void the warranty? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2012, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default Want to upgrade macbook ram to 8GB with Crucial product, will Apple know and void the warranty?

I plan on upgrading the Macbook Pro 15'' from 4gb ram to 8gb with one of the Crucial ram products. The only reason I am hesitant is because I know that using anything non apple on a mac will void the warranty, my question is, how will they know? If something goes wrong with the computer and I want to take it in to apple, can't I just remove the Crucial product and be on my merry way, or is there some magical hardware / software on the macbook that recognizes when a non apple product has been implemented? Thanks a bunch!
Peace #_#
__________________

peaceninjah is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: Want to upgrade macbook ram to 8GB with Crucial product, will Apple know and void the warranty?

you'll be fine. just make sure to take it out if you ever have to have it serviced for any reason. even then, it's just a love note. they aren't going to call the internet police on you.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Want to upgrade macbook ram to 8GB with Crucial product, will Apple know and void the warranty?

Technicially, Macs use the same stuff as regular PC's. I bet you their RAM they put in their systems isn't registered to Apple.

If they have an access panel, that isn't covered with tape, they will allow you to swap out parts. You'd be fine.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does opening the case void the warranty? SexyJames Off Topic Discussion 21 04-19-2006 08:00 AM
Does applying thermal paste void CPU warranty? Flanker New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-27-2005 07:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.