Want to get 1 gig of RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2008, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 86
Default Want to get 1 gig of RAM

I currently have 512 MB of RAM on my Dell Dimension 3000. I want to upgrade to 1gig, because a game I play runs slowly and 1gig is recommended for it. I don't know much about computer hardware, but for RAM are there different types of slots, like there are for video cards? What kind of RAM can I buy for my PC? I am pretty sure there are two slots of 256MB.

Thanks a bunch.
__________________

marconis is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Want to get 1 gig of RAM

Hello,

I can tell you already your system uses DDR 184-pin memory

but if you want more information
check out this site, SDRAM, DDR2 and DDR RAM memory upgrades from Crucial.com
direct link to your specific model: Computer memory upgrades for Dell Dimension 3000 Desktop/PC from Crucial.com

you don't have to buy from Crucial, just get the information off of there
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: Want to get 1 gig of RAM

It looks like your computer has 2 slots for memory, each holding a max capacity of 1GB. If you want to upgrade to 1GB, you need to find 333- or 400MHz DDR memory:
Documentation

The slots are comparable to video card slots in the sense that you slide something into them, but they (obviously) have different features.

Coming from the states, you can buy 2x512MB RAM for $40 including shipping:
Newegg.com - 1GB (2 x 512MB), 184-Pin DDR SDRAM, Desktop Memory, Memory, Computer Hardware
rkagin is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 12:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Want to get 1 gig of RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkagin View Post
It looks like your computer has 2 slots for memory, each holding a max capacity of 1GB. If you want to upgrade to 1GB, you need to find 333- or 400MHz DDR memory:
Documentation

The slots are comparable to video card slots in the sense that you slide something into them, but they (obviously) have different features.

Coming from the states, you can buy 2x512MB RAM for $40 including shipping:
Newegg.com - 1GB (2 x 512MB), 184-Pin DDR SDRAM, Desktop Memory, Memory, Computer Hardware
Thats what I found too

This is pretty good RAM:
Newegg.com - pqi POWER Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 333 (PC 2700) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 86
Default

Thanks a lot guys

Newegg.com - WINTEC AMPO 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

How's that? Will I notice a boost in load speeds and everything while playing the game?
marconis is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Prototype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: Want to get 1 gig of RAM

how about 2GB ifu going to get new ram

Newegg.com - Desktop Memory, Memory, Computer Hardware
__________________

__________________
Project [PROTOTYPE] | Intel Core i7 Bloomfield
i7 920 4.4GHz | XFX 5870 Crossfire 900/1300 Mhz | EVGA E760 Classified | Windows 7 Ultimate | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Silverstone Raven RV02 | Corsair 850HX
WD 640GB Black | WD 320GB External | Megahalems | G.Skill 6GB 1866 9-9-9-21

http://www.techist.com/pc/f10/project-prototype-218619/
Tech-Forums 1st 30K 3DMARK06

Intel Core i5 Lynnfield (Completed)
Prototype is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.