Want to format but can't get into BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2006, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Unhappy Want to format but can't get into BIOS

A friend of mine gave me an old laptop that has a corrupted XP on it. It boots up but just prior to the desktop appearing a warning message appears stating "Windows cannot find \OEM\bin\WatchDriversSigningPolicy.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again. To search for a file, click the Start button, and then click Search.". There is no way of clicking the message off as there is no mouse/cursor.

Because it ran so slow when XP did work he gave it to me to put another OS on it, either 98 or ME. However the disk won't autorun and I can't get into the BIOS to alter the settings because it has a password on it. The owner has no idea what the password is so I'm stuck as I told him "no problem"
Is it possible to connect the laptop hard-drive to my comp so that I can format it or is there another easier/better solution ?

Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
King X13's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13

depending on the laptop you can hit F12 most of the time, if that doesnt work hit the other F keys durning the POST and you can bring up a boot menu to select the device to boot from and then you would just select the cd drive.

King X13 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108

I think I remember hearing once that to reset the password you need to clear the cmos...(Take out the little watch battery on the mobo for about 2-3 minutes, put it back in and boot up). Then press the bios key to get into bios and change the boot order.
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40

Right I had removed the battery but only for as long as it takes to take it out, have a quick look at it, and put t back. It obviously didn't work but leaving it out for a couple of hours did the trick.
Thanks folks it's formatting as I speak
Richard Laymon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.