Want to format but can't get into BIOS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2006, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Unhappy Want to format but can't get into BIOS

A friend of mine gave me an old laptop that has a corrupted XP on it. It boots up but just prior to the desktop appearing a warning message appears stating "Windows cannot find \OEM\bin\WatchDriversSigningPolicy.exe. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again. To search for a file, click the Start button, and then click Search.". There is no way of clicking the message off as there is no mouse/cursor.

Because it ran so slow when XP did work he gave it to me to put another OS on it, either 98 or ME. However the disk won't autorun and I can't get into the BIOS to alter the settings because it has a password on it. The owner has no idea what the password is so I'm stuck as I told him "no problem"
Is it possible to connect the laptop hard-drive to my comp so that I can format it or is there another easier/better solution ?
__________________

Richard Laymon is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

depending on the laptop you can hit F12 most of the time, if that doesnt work hit the other F keys durning the POST and you can bring up a boot menu to select the device to boot from and then you would just select the cd drive.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 12:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 108
Default

I think I remember hearing once that to reset the password you need to clear the cmos...(Take out the little watch battery on the mobo for about 2-3 minutes, put it back in and boot up). Then press the bios key to get into bios and change the boot order.
__________________
Current Build (Hope to finish by late spring):
Intel Q6600 g0
Asus Maximus Formula
geIL Evo 2GB (2x1gb) DDR2
ATI HD3870 X2 or Nvidia 9800 X2?
2x 150gb RaptorX (Have it)
Thermaltake Toughpower 750w PSU (Have it)
ZeroTHERM BTF90
Antec P182 Case
HP w2207 22" Monitor (Have it)
bmitchell73 is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 40
Default

Right I had removed the battery but only for as long as it takes to take it out, have a quick look at it, and put t back. It obviously didn't work but leaving it out for a couple of hours did the trick.
Thanks folks it's formatting as I speak
Richard Laymon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.