Want to buy a computer... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2005, 02:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

You can build a decent computer for 300, but when you want to upgrade down the road, you'r going to have to change everything out.

A PCI-e motherboard and gfx card alone will get you to 300 in a heart beat.

We are trying to tell you that 300 will take you no where, sorry man.
-Joe
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

why dont you just save up some more. and get a decent computer for around 600-700 dollars. or you can always just buy a cheap dell 300 dollars and then you will have to buy another the next day

EDIT: you can always buy a cheap socket A mobo and cpu. but then you will have to upgrade in about a year. so it really is no point of buying a computer with 300 dollars
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Sure, a Dell is always an option, but it will explode the minute the warranty ends. Don't do it.

You expect to make a low-end PC for $300 using relatively new technology, and it cannot be done. You're looking down the PIII and Socket A Athlon and Duron path, and those no longer upgrade like modern parts do.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I have considered saving up. I've been going around to other message boards seeing what their advise is though.

How much work does it take to take out a motherboard and put in a new one? If I wanted to upgrade just the motherboard and processor on my current computer, could I do that for $300? I have Radeon 9600, so it has the older slot, and I have an older processor, so I need a new motherboard with the old slot for the radeon and a new slot for a new processor. I would probably have to buy new ram right?

Here's the story. I currently have a computer. It's kind of old. The only things I have upgraded on it are the hard drive, video card, and ram. But the processor is kind of slow. It is a AMD 1.3ghz processor. I would really like to upgrade that to something that would just put that to shame. But for me to upgrade it, I would have to buy a new motherboard because I believe the slot has changed since I got my motherboard years ago.

So, I was contemplating buying a starter PC and starting from scratch with that. But if I can't do that, maybe I can upgrade what i have now.

Could I get RAM, a motherboard, and a processor better than my 1.3Ghz for $300?
MattRiddle is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MattRiddle

Could I get RAM, a motherboard, and a processor better than my 1.3Ghz for $300?
No, ain't gonna happen. I also suggest saving up.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16
Default

How much do you think it will cost Joe? What products were you thinking of Joe? Again, I'm going to be using this for just bottom of the line gaming. I don't need to run anything on max, so keep that in mind when giving me advice.
MattRiddle is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Look at exactly what I have. I call it the bottom of the top of the line.

any socket 939 board
3000 Venice
6600GT

~$400US Right off the bat, then you need to figure in all the other stuff you want.
-Joe
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I'm just looking to get a better processor than my 1.3mhz. With that, I will need a new motherboard. And because of that, won't I need new ram?

But if this is too difficult to get, saving up is probably the answer.
MattRiddle is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I think saving up is the best answer, do some research before buying anything. Make sure everything is compatible with everything else, then your good to go.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 03:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

you could prob get away very tightly a lil upgrade with 300 from your current setup, the thing is you cant upgrade after that because the new technology which will be upgradable in the future cost alot more than 300 setup.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
2 gb OCZ dual channel platinum
512mb 7900GTX (eVGA)
250gb 16mb WD HD
3550a Dvd/cd rw/r (NEC)
Thermaltake Full Alum. Armor Case
Rmaia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.