Want to build a pc!! HELP! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2006, 11:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
i came up with a list for ya based around the system your looking of:

CM centurion 5 $45
asus p5b vinalla $135
evga 7600gt $130
froton 500w $90
e6300 $180
g.skill 1gb stick $125
WD 250gb 16mb $75
microsoft comfort curve (keyboard and mouse) $22
samsung 17" lcd 5ms with dvi $200
liteon dvd burner w/light scribe $32
logitech x-230 speakers $32

total $1065...$1118 after shipping

I couldn't find the video card you picked out but the evga 7600gt is a great card for the price.
Logitech are known for great speakers for their price....i know i own some . The x-230 are pretty powerful (ive listened to the x-530 which is the 5.1 version of the x-seireis) and they come with a sub.
Samsungs are know for little to no chance of dead pixels. In fact i wish the monitor i picked out was aviable when i got my monitor. Its cheaper and still has a dvi slot, better contrast, and better reponse time.
Asus are awesome with their mobos.
I picked out a g.skill 1 gb stick cause its cheaper that way and you can get another later for 2gb....best way to go as far as upgrading.

Sry i couldn't get it below 1000 but its kinda hard with everything (computer, monitor, keyboard/mouse, speakers) and tyring to keep it a good mid-high end system .
Hope ive helped you out some.
Thanks alot man that seems awesome. Its close enough to 1000
__________________

pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 11:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

So if i buy that, I will have everything i need to get started right, nothings missing. Ill be able to play games right. Well nothing big probably just sometihng like world of warcraft, maybe ^__^ or counter strike. does that video card allow me to do an extended desktop?
__________________

pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

by extended desktop...you mean dual monitors? The evga has two ports but one is dvi and the other is vga.

But to have extended desktop.....you need another monitor. I would stick with the build i suggested and when you get like $350 later down the road, you could get another stick of ram and another monitor.

Butif your going to use dvi (dvi is the best since it does all the fitting on the screen for ya ) you might want to get a video card with dual dvi ports.

You can either stick with the evga 7600gt i suggested, or if you want the dual div slots then get the xfx 7600gt

You can dual monitor with the evga but having a dvi and a vga is kinda weird cause one auto adjusts for you and the other you have to play around with. I don't know about you but that would get on my nerves, having one monitor prefectly aligned and the other always off by a little but thats just me .

In the end its your choice, but you do need two monitors to have a extended desktop.

And this setup would be able to run WoW and CS:S on high settings easy

edit: and yes this is everything you need to emerse yourself in the digital world
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

darkop16, that was a very good build, man. Kudos.

pomx72: that build is a very good one and is everything you need.

As darkop16 mentioned, if what you want is the screen to span two monitors, then of course you'll need to get a second monitor. The XFX 7600GT (I have it) has dual DVI outputs and comes with easy instructions to set up a dual monitor system.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Yeah i know i will need to monitors. I have done it before. But not on my lap top. I did it at school with my teachers. Ill stick with what you suggested it seems great. thanks again
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

What about an operating system?
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 07:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

That list didnt have an operating system right.
pomx72.old is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 08:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

opps...sry we usually never put the OS in the build. I think everyone just assumes you have one with a previous build but since this is your first, then you'll need one.

microsoft xp home w/ vista coupon $90

Or you could learn how to use linux and get a free linux versoin but don't ask me how to use it .

Sry bout not including it...hope it doesn't mess you up. I can't really think of something you could downgrade to bring the price down. sry
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 08:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Not sure if this has been said or not, but I got my parts from www.NewEgg.com. Great parts, for a great price.
Vanvino is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 10:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vanvino
Not sure if this has been said or not, but I got my parts from www.NewEgg.com. Great parts, for a great price.
Yeah it has but its okay
__________________

pomx72.old is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.