Walmart computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2007, 10:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 107
Default Re: Walmart computer

i'd say build it. i did myself and i was super paranoid about it
if not, you can always bring it into a computer shop and have them do it for you for a small fee

Jethro69 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 10:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
Snake91839's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Walmart computer

simple... no!

Don't buy a dell from walmart, first of all dell is a ripoff in the first place.

Second, you could probably build the computer for close to half the price

plus, when you build it, you have exactly what you want on it, and you don't have to deal with the crappy customer service

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 12:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Walmart computer

If I had the abilities to build a system, I would. It would be a good learning experience. But, it's good to know your own limitations and I know building my own computer would be disasterous. I couldn't even change my on-board graphics card with a new one, so a whole computer would be out of the question.
I live in Canada so I couldn't get the Compaq from Here they only offer the Dell with the AMD 3600 cpu. I just thought It would be a cheap upgrade from my currrent system and I don't need anything fancy as I don't do any gaming.

AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 3600+
HD 250GB¹ with 1GB RAM
Genuine Windows Vista™ Home Premium
16x DVD +/-RW drive²
Keyboard and mouse included
Monitor sold separately.

This is the computer Walmart offers in Canada

Web Code: 10089500
Mfr. Part Number: GT5404
Processor Type Intel Pentium D Dual Core 915
Processor Speed 2.8GHz
RAM 1024MB DDR2 PC4200
Hard Drive 250GB SATA II 7200RPM
Optical Drives 16X Multi-Format Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Graphics Card Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
Available Expansion Bays 2 x 3.5 in, 1 x 5.25 in
Available Expansion Slots 1 x PCI-E x16, 1 x PCI-E x1, 1 x PCI
Cache 2 x 2MB L2
Disk Drive No
Fax/Modem 56K V.92
I/O Ports See The Features Section
Included Software See The Features Section
Monitor Included? No
Network Card 10/100 Mbps Ethernet LAN
Other Control Devices Multimedia Keyboard, Wheel Mouse
Preloaded Operating System Windows Vista Home Premium
Sound Card 5.1 High Definition Audio
Speakers USB Powered Amplified Stereo
System Bus 800MHz
Warranty 1 Year Parts & Labour

Would this be a better choice. This is from It's $499 compared to $599 for the Dell.
mikemar1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 01:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: Walmart computer

Originally Posted by mikemar1 View Post
I couldn't even change my on-board graphics card with a new one, so a whole computer would be out of the question.
you can't change out on-board graphics.
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 02:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Walmart computer

I meant that I couldn't replace my integrated graphics with a pci card, which is the only card that I can use
mikemar1 is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 02:16 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
nu2duo's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Thumbs up Re: Walmart computer

Listen Mike, go ahead and buy it. You'll be just fine. It's true though, building it is the best choice. But I like the fact that you are honest and know your limitations. That 3600 amd will serve you well.

Just remember that if you are going to game, integrated graphics just isn't going to cut it. If you are like most americans who surf the net, type word docs, save pics and rip music, the walmart pc will keep up. Don't worry
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 02:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Sup

yea build your own pc man, if you have a question, post a topic! simple as that. we here at tech-forums are always ready and eager to help! (right guys?)

and the reason the onboard still worked after you put in the new card, is becasue you have to go into the bios and have it
"init display first (agp / pci)"
you have to choose pci for it to boot from it (that was just a sample from a hp)

and i have a question. is it true that dell has mobo manufactures bid and then dell chooses the one who is cheapest? i heard it from many different sources, just never been able to confirm it.

Compaq i have no problems with, there are three pc manufactures that i can deal with: HP, Compaq, and eMachines (all basically same company) i just have one comment first:

if you do buy a prebuild, format the hard drive, and do a fresh install with a new disk or something, not that restore disk crap, they just load the hdd down again. i mean my friends dell, brand new, like 80 processes. i have this other pc thats like half of that dell, but a fresh install, and it just straight out performs it like there is no freakin tomorrow.

thats why im thinking, why not just reinstall on your current pc? it makes them run soo much faster, or take it to a shop (unless someone wants to walk him through it) and have them remove all the unwanted startup programs and services, it does wonders to increase system know, msconfig?
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 05:28 AM   #18 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Walmart computer

Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
Most people think computers are waaaaaay over their heads. but it really isnt. the manuals that come with the parts are very good, and we have tutorials here too. heck we can ever pick out the parts for you to order and then help you assemble it and install the software, over the net of course.
lol its true we do basically give these random people every component/ where to buy it/ how to install an operating system/ how to optimise it both in the bios and via software/ how to physically mod it into your own creation

Between the regular techies here we can help you with every possible pc use or size form. for example if you wanted a pocket pc around the same size as an old gameboy for your lounge to make a media hub then pico-itx is for you, if you then wanted to add satellite tv then nano-itx can be yours for the same size as an A5 piece of paper but thicker obviously..... now you don't want tv any more you just want downloaded media and some heavy gaming then mini-itx.
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 12:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
darksideleader's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Walmart computer

it has 1 pci-express slot...
darksideleader is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 02:58 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Walmart computer

go for it if you really are worried about building. but building is fun. more fun that buying pre-built, and it will become a great hobby! plus, you can have the pride of saying, "i built my computer" me, everyday joes really do think it is like brain surgery or something. its not.
all that aside, that rig is fine for a normal user.

"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 06:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 10:09 PM
Computer turns off! dingledow Microsoft Windows and Software 6 06-01-2007 11:21 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 11:40 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 09:54 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.