Voodoo 3 in Asus A8N SLI Motherboard! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Ridiculous or not?
Yep, it's ridiculous. 23 76.67%
No way, it offends me. 3 10.00%
Fence sitter. 4 13.33%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2006, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default Voodoo 3 in Asus A8N SLI Motherboard!

Hi,

I have just bought some new computer parts to build a new machine, including;

Asus A8N SLi Motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
2 x 512MB DDR 400 Memory

I have not yet puchased a graphics card due to lack of funds until i'm paid at the end of the month!!

In my current machine I have an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, although its AGP, but in a box somewhere I have an old PCI Voodoo 3 card.

Does anyone know if this card will work fine in a spare PCI Slot on my new machine until I can get a new graphics card, or does the A8N SLI only recognise PCI-Express Graphics cards?

I wont be attempting to run any groundbreaking 3d games or anything, just so I can make sure all the components that I ordered are working, and so that I can set it up ready for my new graphics card in a couple of weeks time

Thanks, Lance.
__________________

lank is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

it will work you may have to change a bios setting so it can reconize it.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Default

you can just use your onboard video can't you?
__________________
My \"tite\" sysytem:Compaq SR1020NX
Celeron 2.8GHz
Cheap generic mobo(MSI)
PNY Geforce fx5500 128 MB pci
512 MB pc2700 ddr ram
compaq case with generic 250 watt psu
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...ron Maiden.jpg
wasd is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

no onboard vid on that board. pci card should work.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The card will work, but don't expect any ground breaking graphics! lol
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 04:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default it worked..

Hi, I built my new machine last nite, and I'm happy to say the old voodoo 3 worked a treat (after blowing an inch of dust off it!!)

Everything seems to be working fine, just need my new graphics card now so I can get on with farcry!

As to the post above about the bios, yeah there is an option in there to select whether to use PCI or PCIEx graphics, but (luckily!) it automatically detected the PCI card and changed the setting.

Also, there is no onboard graphics on this board(just to confirm above post!)

thanks all,

lance.
__________________

lank is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.