Which Voltage is the true vcore of my CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2008, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Which Voltage is the true vcore of my CPU?

In my BIOS I set my vcore to exactly 1.4volts, but when i load up windows cpu-id says im at 1.376. I have the ASUS P5Q LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail. So which one is correct?
__________________

Viscin is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Which Voltage is the true vcore of my CPU?

BIOS

CPUId shows the Vcore after Vdroop.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Which Voltage is the true vcore of my CPU?

CPU-Z shows either the VID or the Core after VDroop.. (for me it switched between them depending on my OS.. it was quite odd..)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Which Voltage is the true vcore of my CPU?

Always go with the Bios. Its much more accurate then any program can ever be. Even though CPU'z is a fairly accurate program, I'd still go with what the bios says instead.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Default Re: Which Voltage is the true vcore of my CPU?

kk ty
Viscin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen of Death -> Help ! Prisonbreak94 Microsoft Windows and Software 52 10-19-2008 10:01 AM
Help with CPU and GPU upgrades. Dizzychug System Upgrades 33 10-11-2008 11:52 PM
Installing 4850 HD brings both cpu and gpu to 100% phaux Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-24-2008 12:43 AM
litle help with Terms and Olverclocking Voltage Terms StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 1 03-11-2008 02:59 PM
RAM voltage and vCore KaliX Overclocking and Modding 7 06-06-2007 04:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.