Vista System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2008, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 4
Default Vista System

I am looking for opinions on the cheapest system I could build to run vista fairly easy. This is what I've compiled but I'm not sure whether it will run vista smoothly with light usage, i.e. web surfing, video watching, music cd burning, ms office.

Newegg.com - Rosewill R5717 BK 120mm Fan ATX Mid Tower Computer Case+450W Power Supply withTool-Free kits - Retail

Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache IDE 20X DVD±R DVD Burner - OEM

Newegg.com - Western Digital WD1200AAJS 120GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Newegg.com - Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Newegg.com - ASUS M2V-MX SE AM2 VIA K8M890 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Brisbane 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail

Newegg.com - EVGA 128-P2-N428-LR GeForce 7200GS 512MB (128MB on Board) 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

I can build these specs for just under $300 with some shopping around and promo's. Will this run Vista Home Premium pretty good for average usage?

Can I build it cheaper than $275?

Comments and suggestions would be great
__________________

Bone06 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Vista System

For Vista Home Premium, you would be pushing the graphics capability of that card to the max. You could always jump down to Vista Home Basic or use Vista Home Premium with Aero disabled. Other than that, the processor and RAM should be plenty for Vista.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Vista System

If you can stand to drop to 256MB on the GFX card, here is an option that should run it:
Newegg.com - MSI NX8400GS-TD256E GeForce 8400GS 256MB 64-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

8400GS, 256MB, DX 10, $35.99 ($25.99 after $10.00 Mail-In Rebate)

You won't play many games on it, but it will do more than the 7200 will.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Cool Re: Vista System

I have Vista Ult. x32 running on a Intel 3.0GHz HT, 1 gig ram(800mhz), Geforce 6600GT (128MB) and its running fine and fast :happy:

Cheers.
SFYoda is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 11:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Vista System

Forget the videocards get this motherboard:
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A78-EMH HDMI AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Onboard video should perform like a 3450 or a 8500GT w/ 64-bit memory interface.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Viper's Top tweaks for a faster PC xXxexpertxXx Overclocking and Modding 0 02-21-2008 10:04 PM
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.