vista on old P4 2.8Ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2009, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 98
Question vista on old P4 2.8Ghz

Hi all,

My plans of building a new set has just changed slightly, and it means that i have to settle first with my old P4. Now I plan to do a clean XP install to help it from being even more sluggish, however, do you guys think it will run on Vista?

The config is:
Gigabyte Mobo
P4 2.8 Ghz - I'm not sure it it runs HT
GPU FX5500
1.2 GB DDR memory - I can upgrade into 2 GB if needed

I installed two HDs, and I plan to add another one via SATA adapter (the mobo only has 2 SATA built in). I may install the Vista on the new HD and run dual boot. My friend told me that running 3 HDs will burden my aging set, is it true? I've also installed two DVD burners already on it.

If I install Vista Home Premium, how do you think it will perform especially on multitask, and will Aero works with FX5500? Will adding memory help significantly? I will not spend my money on a new Vista disc if my old set can't handle it.

I mainly use my PC for internet, downloading, audio/video playback (no rendering/converting), office task, and other light duties.

Thanks for all your inputs.
Peter
__________________

peter_ming is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: vista on old P4 2.8Ghz

IMO you would want at least 2gb to run vista well. For that setup I would stick with xp you could try win7 for free to see how that performs.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: vista on old P4 2.8Ghz

Quote:
and will Aero works with FX5500?
It should, but probably only just.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: vista on old P4 2.8Ghz

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter_ming View Post
Hi all,

My plans of building a new set has just changed slightly, and it means that i have to settle first with my old P4. Now I plan to do a clean XP install to help it from being even more sluggish, however, do you guys think it will run on Vista?

The config is:
Gigabyte Mobo
P4 2.8 Ghz - I'm not sure it it runs HT
GPU FX5500
1.2 GB DDR memory - I can upgrade into 2 GB if needed

I installed two HDs, and I plan to add another one via SATA adapter (the mobo only has 2 SATA built in). I may install the Vista on the new HD and run dual boot. My friend told me that running 3 HDs will burden my aging set, is it true? I've also installed two DVD burners already on it.

If I install Vista Home Premium, how do you think it will perform especially on multitask, and will Aero works with FX5500? Will adding memory help significantly? I will not spend my money on a new Vista disc if my old set can't handle it.

I mainly use my PC for internet, downloading, audio/video playback (no rendering/converting), office task, and other light duties.

Thanks for all your inputs.
Peter
You meet the Home Premium requirements, so you'll be able to run Aero and whatnot..

You definitely want 2GB on Vista though
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: vista on old P4 2.8Ghz

you should try the windows 7 RC instead,

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win.../download.aspx
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 11:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 98
Default Re: vista on old P4 2.8Ghz

@ all: thanks for the advise!

I have the W7 disc, I'll try it once I get the new HD
__________________

peter_ming is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Currently on windows xp. Want to get dx10 and have vista 32bit key. Is it worth it? stainer711 Microsoft Windows and Software 17 01-03-2009 09:22 AM
Buying a Vista Laptop cyclones Laptops and Notebooks 23 08-01-2008 04:32 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Download Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 42 03-22-2008 04:23 AM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.