vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2007, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default vista

i had to get a new laptop (HP dv9000) which I like - but with 1 gb ram - it is slow. I love XP and have access to an new install with SP2.

Meanwhile I have loaded the laptop with all the 2007 Windows office etc.

Question:

am i better off to install xp

or, add another gb of ram??

Love to hear all sides of the story
__________________

shooterdave is offline  
Old 12-13-2007, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: vista

Downgrading to XP would likely fix your performance issues.

... though, adding in a gig of RAM would probably fix it too.

If you can go to XP for free... that might be your best option if you're not looking to spend money.

Though, I personally would just add in a gig of RAM.
__________________

__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: vista

Thanks for the input.
shooterdave is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: vista

I am somewhat on the same situation as this and decided after looking on newegg for so ram that I would just uprade to two gigs. Down side is I have to buy ti 1 gig sticks. However ram is so cheap right now that you can get 2 gigs of ddr2 so ram for about fifty dollars or so. If I were you and had the fifty dollars I would try the ram upgrade first then see what you think and then even if you revert back to xp you have 2 gig as apposed to one. Future proofing yourself so to say.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 12-22-2007, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: vista

go with XP and 2gigs, i used vista for 10months and i must have reinstalled it due to errors about 12 times, i am currently running XP Home SP2 with 2Gbs RAM, Athlon 3800+ and a Geforce 8600GT and it flys! (compared to vista )
Nick is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 03:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
go with XP and 2gigs, i used vista for 10months and i must have reinstalled it due to errors about 12 times, i am currently running XP Home SP2 with 2Gbs RAM, Athlon 3800+ and a Geforce 8600GT and it flys! (compared to vista )
i've been running vista for about 7 months and havent had to re-install once due to an error.

I've only found 2 things so far that vista doesn't like. Speedbit internet optimizer (useless anyhow)

and download accellerator plus. kinda sucks cause its a great program imo. all the other ones irritate the **** outta me. I can still use it, it just crashes on occasion. only takes 10 seconds to boot up again ;p.


anyhow i'd probably grab the extra ram and not bother with the downgrade. but you can do both if you want, youll notice much better performance.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 04:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: vista

its odd that it runs fine for some people and not for others i'm happy with XP but its up to you what you choose, if you do go with vista then get another GB of RAM
Nick is offline  
Old 12-23-2007, 08:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to themaster Send a message via MSN to themaster
Default Re: vista

I would agree with upgrading to 2GB. I have ran vista for since its release and haven't had to re-install it at all. Ben.
__________________

themaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No More Vista Recuded Functionality Mode. Harper Microsoft Windows and Software 7 12-06-2007 09:53 AM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 09:37 AM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
soundcard for vista = worthless? macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 34 05-05-2007 10:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.