Videocard question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default Videocard question

I'm thinking about getting a new computer and i'm going to need a good videocard so could somebody find me a good videocard that would play some newer games perferbly $100-$115 on compusa.com. It's ok if you use another website but i would like if it was from compusa. Thanks!

~is it possible to get a good videocard for that price or do i have to pay more? thx again
__________________

__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

depends what you mean by 'good.' The best video card I'd buy is the one that I have in my sig. The X700 seires. That is, if you have a PCIe slot. We need more info on your current computer before we make any recommendations.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

I gave you a pm. please read it. thanks :-)
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

$150 - Nvidia 6600GT
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
Default

Can you give me a link to one?
__________________
<a href=http://profile.xfire.com/mdogg1108><img src=http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/mdogg1108.png width=450 height=34></a>
mdogg1108 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

PCI-e or AGP?


PCI-e
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130214

AGP
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Default

ATI x1600pro $129.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102651
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 MOBO
MSI Radeon x1600pro 256mb
Patriot pc3200 2x512mb Ram
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
WD Corsair SE SATA 150 80gb HD
Cooler Master Centurion 5 (black/blue) case
Secundus is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Secundus
ATI x1600pro $129.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102651


meh....
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Default

I think it's better than the 6600 series.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 MOBO
MSI Radeon x1600pro 256mb
Patriot pc3200 2x512mb Ram
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
WD Corsair SE SATA 150 80gb HD
Cooler Master Centurion 5 (black/blue) case
Secundus is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Everyone is entitled to their opinions.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.