Videocard help plz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 03:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i have a crazy idea......save up all ur money......sell ur parts piece by piece, work for about 1 or 2 months, they buy a whole new system. hows that? cause the stuf fyou have now isnt that great either. Speaking of which, wat Processor do you have? and wats ur FSB Speed, thats probably whats holding you back. because if your computer has a 4x AGP slot and 250 Watt PSU. i doubt you have anything higher than 200MHz fsb and over 1.2GHz. Check ur system specs.

start>control panel>system
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 03:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
i have a crazy idea......save up all ur money......sell ur parts piece by piece, work for about 1 or 2 months, they buy a whole new system. hows that? cause the stuf fyou have now isnt that great either. Speaking of which, wat Processor do you have? and wats ur FSB Speed, thats probably whats holding you back. because if your computer has a 4x AGP slot and 250 Watt PSU. i doubt you have anything higher than 200MHz fsb and over 1.2GHz. Check ur system specs.

start>control panel>system
I have a compaq pentium 4 2.53ghz with 1 gig ram. This computer works great but video card isn't good enough for todays stuff. I think a good psu and video will give my computer an extra year or so of life. And i am saving cash but kinda broke these days but when i do get one it will be a monster machine.
__________________

Sleepyz is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 04:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

hm........
so how much money can u spare?
john3 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 06:24 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Looking for about 200 or less. Already have to buy a new psu.
Sleepyz is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 08:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

6600GT or 6800GS r best. look on www.tigerdirect.com
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 09:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

go with a 6600GT and get a good Antec, Enermax, or OCZ PSU. if you can afford it get the 6800.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.