Video questions, please. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 08:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

I'm willing to spend around 2k if the system is worth it, but that's about my limit.

I'd have to look, but I think I'm limited to the Optiplex system (with Dell) and I'm not sure about Gateway.
__________________

PhilShowalter is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 09:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhilShowalter
I'm willing to spend around 2k if the system is worth it, but that's about my limit.

I'd have to look, but I think I'm limited to the Optiplex system (with Dell) and I'm not sure about Gateway.
Thats plenty of $ for a system these days...maybe look into gateway then...let me know
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 03:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

2K is heaps
but i dont no about optiplex
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

could always go with something like this...

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...PS400F4B&s=dhs

That'll work for a couple of years.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
could always go with something like this...

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellsto...PS400F4B&s=dhs

That'll work for a couple of years.
i thought he said he could only go with optiplex
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Sorry...

http://www.dell.com/content/topics/t...=04&l=en&s=bsd
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

those optiplex systems dont have very good GFX options...
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 07:14 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

anyone no anything about gateway?
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
i thought he said he could only go with optiplex
You are quite correct, I can only go with OptiPlex. The state contract is quite generous where it it applies, but you can't pick and choose. I didn't ask a fair question since I didn't give you my Gateway options, but I'll do that.

My past opinion is/was that Gateway's hardware is inferior to Dell's, but that's just my opinion, and it may not apply to current offerings, I'll check that.

Thanks for replying.

Phil
PhilShowalter is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

My comp plays doom 3 with good framerates and this was back when i had a athlon xp 2500+ same card (crap) as i have now
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.