Video and Memory Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2009, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default Video and Memory Upgrade

I upgraded a Dell E521 with a 2 GB DR-800 RAM (OCZ) and a 1 GB DDR2 Nvidia Video Card. Here is the deal.

The system automatically is getting 700 MB from the RAM, so the video card ends up with 1.7 GB and Vista (Home Premium) is running with 1.3 GB of RAM.

I tried to bypass this uptake thru the BIOS with no suscess. I also tried thru Video properties and no suscess also. Any wadvise with be appreciated.
__________________

Paco Rabanne is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digital_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 141
Default Re: Video and Memory Upgrade

I really wouldn't worry about the RAM usage... I had the same thing going when I had Vista on my machine... If you have a program that need the RAM it will grab it... I tried playing with the video settings on my vith no success on how much is shared. If you want to free up some ram... you can try and tweek setting... turning off aero... ect..
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-e nVidia nForce 570 Ultra
Video Card: nVidia BFG tech 260 gtx max core
RAM: 4 GB G.Skill RAM
PSU: hec ACE-580UB 580W PSU
Case: APEVIA X-Plorer Blue ATX Case
Hard Drives: x2 160GB WD HD, x1 80GB WD HD, x1 320GB WD HD
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Digital_Jedi is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 12:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Video and Memory Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital_Jedi View Post
I really wouldn't worry about the RAM usage... I had the same thing going when I had Vista on my machine... If you have a program that need the RAM it will grab it... I tried playing with the video settings on my vith no success on how much is shared. If you want to free up some ram... you can try and tweek setting... turning off aero... ect..
Thanks, DJ. Originally, the sysmtem was deadly slow. I change the BIOS settings for the performace of the SATA drive and open the memory from 64 to 128 MB (integrated video). I turned of the aero effect and the PC improve ~15% speed.

I decided to upgrade video and ram, and still the improvement in speed is not worth the money. I am not really sure if getting more RAM will improve the speed.

I may try to reinstall the OS using a smaller partition to see if this improves the speed.
Paco Rabanne is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digital_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 141
Default Re: Video and Memory Upgrade

Yes the aero does use a good chunk of the system resources... adding more ram will help a bit but not by much... also if you are running a 32bit OS then you are limmited to how much RAM you can use... about 3.5 to 4 GB. You also dont need to spend alot of money on RAM... but you dont want to buy cheap either. Re-installing may help but... go to blackviper.com com... it shows you how to config services vista has running that you may never use... (like tablit PC stuff) it help improve a system a bit depending on the degree of what you tweak... care cause you can also damage the system as well and have to reinstall your OS... the other way to go is up or down... windows 7 uses system resources a lot better than vista... or you could drop down to XP and have a good macihine... also look at your process speed... lots of RAM doesn't mean a thing if you have a slow CPU.
__________________
CPU: AMD 64 Athlon X2 5600+
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-e nVidia nForce 570 Ultra
Video Card: nVidia BFG tech 260 gtx max core
RAM: 4 GB G.Skill RAM
PSU: hec ACE-580UB 580W PSU
Case: APEVIA X-Plorer Blue ATX Case
Hard Drives: x2 160GB WD HD, x1 80GB WD HD, x1 320GB WD HD
OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Digital_Jedi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade video card of old desktop PC. techGuy System Upgrades 27 01-27-2009 08:30 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.