Video Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 03:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to wrichards2005
Default Video Cards

I have a question about video cards... I am looking to buy a new one for my computer for around $150-250.. I've heard a lot about the 6800GT. BUT... I have a Biostar M7VIB motherboard only supporting 4x AGP. I'm running a AMD XP 2000 processor (for now). What does everyone suggest?
__________________

wrichards2005 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

eVGA 6600GT

x8 agp is backwards compatible with x4 agp.
so a 6800GT will work if you have the money sense its like 300 dollars





*are you from tucson az?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

or the 6600GT
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to wrichards2005
Default

Yeah I'm from Tucson... I'm only running a 64 MB Vid Card right now... but do you think i need a faster processor/motherboard.. for just the video card for now?
wrichards2005 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

well if you really want, you can buy my 9800pro
you can get a 9600XT if your really worried



*i used to live in tucson, az before i moved here to MA, FREEZING I SAY FREEEZING!! ITS 40F!!! and its like 100F still in AZ lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

video card for now... you may want to think about upgrading the CPu though.. how much RAM do you have?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to wrichards2005
Default

768 Megs DDR (333 I think) But its getting DRAINEEEED by ZoneAlarm and SpySweeper.. what does it matter if I'm from AZ though?
wrichards2005 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to wrichards2005
Default

I want to run my games on FULL SETTINGS... lol... my card looks like a million bucks on Madden 2003 but it looks like PS1 Graphics on 2006.... Yep Tucson is about 85 today haha shorts all year baby
wrichards2005 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

at you least i get snow days

you get like some weird funky rodeo day or something in the spring im like wtf?

you can buy my 9800pro it can play bf2 on med-high settings and probably madden 03 on like all high lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to wrichards2005
Default

How much memory does it have??? Yeah we get rodeo day for 2 Days in Feb. and then only 3 days for spring break for Easter.. we get spring break diff then everyone else.

Do you know if there are any alternatives besides Spysweeper and zonelabs? Besides spyware doctor, and ad aware cause i don't like them
__________________

wrichards2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.