video cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2005, 09:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default video cards

I am trying to put a system and can't decide which video card gives me more bang for my buck. They both cost about the same:
Geforce 6600 128 MB
or
Radeon 9600 Pro 256 MB

Please Advise
__________________

new_apprentice is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

I would go for the 6600 since Nvidia has better linux drivers. I think the 6600 runs better too.
__________________

nezzari is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Get the GT version if you can though. It's a lot better.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 10:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 223
Send a message via AIM to nezzari
Default

That's actually what I'm putting in my system. It's not much, but I want to wait until the 8xxx series to upgrade.
nezzari is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 12:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

6600 is better..but the 6600GT is way better...
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Yeah I would also go with 6600GT, a difference is the mem and core clocks are aboout double in the 6600GT (500/1000) than the 6600 (300/500)
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

yea, go with a 6600gt, or a x800gt/x800gto they have 256 memory compared to 128, Up to you.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 11:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
The GeForce 6600 GT has 128MB of GDDR3 on a 128-bit memory bus, which runs at 1GHz providing 16GB/sec of bandwidth. To combat this, ATI is making the standard memory width 256-bits wide. ATI will give you the option to have either 128MB or 256MB of GDDR3 on the card. At the 980MHz frequency that is standard with the 256MB version, this gives the ATI Radeon X800 GT a whopping 31.3GB/second of memory bandwidth, which is almost double that of the GeForce 6600 GT.

This is what we meant by a configuration that seems somewhat imbalanced. You have a 256MB framebuffer with a whole lot of memory bandwidth available, but only around 3.8 GigaTexels a second of fill rate available to it. Therefore, it begs the question as to whether or not this is overkill for the shader and fill rate performance the video card provides.
The X800GTs have higher bandwidth, but the throughput is roughly the same. In fact, I did the math once when I was shopping for video cards, and I think the 6600GT actually has a higher fill rate. I think it was over 4 GigaTexels, but don't quote me on that.
__________________

beardo526 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.