Video Card for these Games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2005, 10:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Default Video Card for these Games

I need a video card that will work well for games like Age of Empires 3 & the Sims series. I don't play Half-Life or Counter Strike. I'm looking for a 128MB card, but is a 256MB card even necessary? I don't want any lag in gameplay. Something under $100 would be even better.
__________________

ptran127 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 155
Default

i think that u will need a 256MB card to play age of empires and sims, if you dont want any lags watsoever. the 256mb is very necessary these days as games become more demanding, and you would be better off saving a little extra just to get that 256mb card. i would also suggest the nvidia 6800 gtx or the gt, and well the latest card out which is the 7800 from nvidia. stick to nvidia they're better than ati.
__________________

__________________
Dell Inspiron 9300
Intel Pentium M 1.73GHZ
1GB RAM
128MB ATI Mobility Radeon x300
80GB Hard drive
tariqadkhan is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

6800 gtx? do u mean ultra...and personally i think that a 6800 gt or ultra would be all that you need because the 7800gt seems to be a little bit overkill even for some of the latest games.
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

yes there is a 6800gtx ....nickfas
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I'm lookin for something more on the lines of under $100. There's a BFG GeForce 6200OC 256MB AGP that I'm looking at, and also a XFG GeForce 6600GT AGP.
ptran127 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

I'm assuming that you know you have agp?
I'd get a 6600GT. Maybe not XFX, but if it's the XFX 6600GT or the 6200, get the 6600GT.
I have the card and it runs everything smoothy at high settings so far except for battlefield 2 and fear (battlefield 2 I play at medium/high settings, no lag)
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 02:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if anyting, get at least a 6600 GT. but not from XFX
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 02:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Don't bother buying AOE3. It's full of bugs.
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.