Video Card Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Video Card Questions

I was thinking of upgrading my computer with a video card. I just have a few questions. The specs to my computer can be found here.

1. Would it even be possible to install a video card? I'm not sure, but it says it has "11 MB shared, integrated graphics, not upgradeable". Does this mean that it is impossible to add a graphics card, or just that you cannot increase the memory available to the integrated graphics?

2. On some games, it recommends a 32 megabyte AGP graphics card. However, my computer only has PCI slots. If I got a PCI graphics card, would these games be compatable with it?

3. I am not sure, but on the site it looks like the computer has a 90 watt power supply. Would that be enough to run any low-end graphics card, or would I need a larger power supply?

4. If it is possible to upgrade my computer with a graphics card, how much memory should be on it? I mostly play older games, nearly all made before 2003. My computer is too slow to play any new games, so i have no need of a large graphics card. Also, I am not able to afford a very expensive card.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

trekkie00 is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Sounds like time to build a new budget pc. I will respond soon with the cheapest sucker I can get, cause you sound like you have a circa 1997 computer
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Here's what I'm compiling...

Processor: AMD Sempron 2300+
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819104202
$56

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-7VT600P-RZ
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128281
$51.50

RAM: Rosewill 512MB (2 x 256MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 333
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820223027
$46.82

Hard Drive: EXCELSTOR Callisto J840 40GB 7200 RPM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822162003
$49.99

Video Card: GIGABYTE GV-R96P128DE Radeon 9600PRO 128MB DDR AGP 4X/8X
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125169
$74.50

Case: Broadway Com Corp 204-4HA Beige Steel ATX Mid Tower w/ 450W psu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811162017
$41

CD Burner: Rosewill Gray IDE CD Burner
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827190014
$24.98

Total Cost: $344.79
The rest of the stuff (monitor, keyboard, mouse...) is all up to you.

This ought to get it done for any game out in 03 or before... It's budget, so people don't go criticizing and upgrading. Opinions may differ, bu this is my opinion.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 60
Default

you will probaly need windows xp home
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16837102151

I also recommend this mobo as its PCI-E so its uptodate and you can fit better GPU's in if you feel the urge to go pro!!!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491

and put a PCI-E graphics card in to fit the mobo, and hay presto uve got a very nice machine

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102565
matthab is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

Thanks for the advice, but right now I don't have the need for a new computer. I would just like to upgrade mine so the games I already use will run quicker and look better.
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, I offered the new setup as an option, because your computer seems highly not-upgradable. I hope you can, because there are a few PCI video cards out there. They're not very good at all, like, very bad.
The processor is pretty much top-of-the-line for that era too. I have a P3 800, and I'm right on par with ya. There's a 1.2 ghz P3 I think, but it's hardly better than yours.
The power supply was worring me the most. 90 watts is almost nothing. My P3 setup had a 180 watt power supply, and I was worried about putting a video card in. It worked out, but I was cutting it close with that!

Good luck, and I hope you can get that thing running the way you want.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: Video Card Questions

Quote:
Originally posted by trekkie00
1. Would it even be possible to install a video card? I'm not sure, but it says it has "11 MB shared, integrated graphics, not upgradeable". Does this mean that it is impossible to add a graphics card, or just that you cannot increase the memory available to the integrated graphics?

2. On some games, it recommends a 32 megabyte AGP graphics card. However, my computer only has PCI slots. If I got a PCI graphics card, would these games be compatable with it?

3. I am not sure, but on the site it looks like the computer has a 90 watt power supply. Would that be enough to run any low-end graphics card, or would I need a larger power supply?

4. If it is possible to upgrade my computer with a graphics card, how much memory should be on it? I mostly play older games, nearly all made before 2003. My computer is too slow to play any new games, so i have no need of a large graphics card. Also, I am not able to afford a very expensive card.
1 - open pci slot means a new graphics card, just remeber to disable onboard.

2. yes most likely

3. i would say yes probably. usually video cards dont use that much power. thats just full powe rwith all your hdds dvds etc running at the same time

4. 512 at least.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130186
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default

Which one of these or these would be best? My family is very cautious about ordering stuff online, unless it's through a well-known business such as CompUSA or CircuitCity.

Thanks!
__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...864&pfp=BROWSE

newegg is a very reliable store. everyone buys from them and not one problem
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.