Video card question...need a little bit of help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2007, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Default Video card question...need a little bit of help

By the way the names Germ and this is my first post at Tech-Forums

Anyway i have a dell dimension 4500

P4 1.8ghz

1gb ram

250 watt PSU

one cd rom drive, and one cyberhome dvd-rw/cd-rw drive

among other things now i have an older asus 128mb graphic card with an nvidia ti4400 chipset and i know for a fact my agp slot is 4x...it runs fine but im craving just a little more graphic power i was thinking of the Geforce 4 Fx5200 256mb its cheap but i heard its decent now my question

The box says 8x agp will the card support 4x?

also i have a 250 PSU...now this card from what i know does not need direct power from the PSU but will my computer be able to hand that card on the agp slot?...i would have 21 days to return it but i just dont want to go thru all the trouble of goin there getting it finding out it doesnt work and having to return it....any input appreciated...the box also says 250w PSU recommended i also have my pci slots filled if that helps
__________________

GeRm20 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Hello and welcome, GeRm20!

That Geforce 4 Fx5200 256mb 8x should lower it's speed to 4x since that's what
your mobo supports.

As for your PSW, I'm not a expert at all on them so I'm going to let someone else
answer that one for you.
__________________

pylon567 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Welcome to Tech-Forums!

What is your budget on the PSU and VGA upgrade? The FX5200 would do fine but, maybe a 7600GT AGP would do a better job at new generation games.

For the PSU, you might want to look into the Fry's newspapers, Circuit City, CompUSA, and such others. They might have some PSU's on sale. If you're looking to buy it online, you can get the Xclio Goodpower 500W. Very good PSU at a great price.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Welcome to Tech-Forums!

What is your budget on the PSU and VGA upgrade? The FX5200 would do fine but, maybe a 7600GT AGP would do a better job at new generation games.

For the PSU, you might want to look into the Fry's newspapers, Circuit City, CompUSA, and such others. They might have some PSU's on sale. If you're looking to buy it online, you can get the Xclio Goodpower 500W. Very good PSU at a great price.

Im a Pc Technician at CompUsa (its sad that i fix em and have no idea on how much power consumption a peripheral part takes lol) i play F.E.A.R and FarCry but i am not a hardcore gamer...all i really want to know is if a fx5200 256mb would run on a 250w PSU....plus my Dell is 6 years old im not trying to upgrade anything else really so does anyone know?
GeRm20 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

And i forgot to mention Dell's power supply are a REAL pain...the way the case is designed it will not let u mount a power supply with a switch on it and all i carry in the store are the ones with the switches im going to build a hardcore gaming rig in the next year or so because im just getting into gaming lol (PS2 an Xbox for life!)
GeRm20 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Oh, got you. Well, the FX5200 would run with a 250W PSU but sometimes, you might want to get a bit more Watts and AMPs. Is this 250W PSU from the Dell? Are you able to check it's +12V railings?

Oh man, I've seen a few of those. I had one on my VAIO as well. This means we'll have to find one without a switch. Darn, I haven't helped anybody with those kinds of PSUs.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Oh, got you. Well, the FX5200 would run with a 250W PSU but sometimes, you might want to get a bit more Watts and AMPs. Is this 250W PSU from the Dell? Are you able to check it's +12V railings?

Oh man, I've seen a few of those. I had one on my VAIO as well. This means we'll have to find one without a switch. Darn, I haven't helped anybody with those kinds of PSUs.

Yea a Dell power supply but i dont have a multimeter at the moment and what do u mean sometimes...my biggest goal is to have it run F.E.A.R with better graphics and with no problems
GeRm20 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Oh, EVGA's FX5200 requires 18AMPs. Are you able to check the +12V railings of your PSU? I need to know how much AMPs it currently has.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

My next rig consists of....

Clear Acrylic case with bottom mount PSU

Antec 850w PSU (That new PCI-E 2.0 is no joke...about 300 watts a Video Card)

Intel Core 2 duo Processor

Asus Gaming board SLI (Forgot the model) but it is also compatible with the new Quad Core as well as Core 2 duo both are 775LGA

500gb seagate HD

74gb Raptor 10K rpm HD

and 2 8600GTS's SLI'd or if not maybe a 8600GTX....i think that should cover it lmao
GeRm20 is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Video card question...need a little bit of help

Click this link for all the specs i can find at the moment for the dell

Documentation
__________________

GeRm20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Question about OCing a Video Card mgcook New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-11-2007 02:29 AM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
Question about my video card.. Howlz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 05-28-2007 05:07 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.