Video Card Question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2008, 03:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Video Card Question..

I was curious as what to expect from a new video card I ordered.. Its a Geforce 6200 256mb AGP card.. Keep in mind the video I have now is a crap on-board 64 meg. Im not looking to run the latest games in the highest resoulution, just want to be able to run them. I think the video I have takes the 64 megs from my Ram and allocates it to video. Also, I had to order a new power supply because mines only 250W and I believe the card requires 300-350.., Are power supplies standard, as far as will it fit in my case? Thanks


Matt
B CO 1/16 INF
__________________

Army11b is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 04:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Video Card Question..

There are standards for PSU's (like ATX) but if you have something like a Dell it may not fit. Also, you should see a nice gain in performance over your previous, but you should have maybe aimed higher, maybe something like a 2400/2600PRO....
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 05:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Video Card Question..

Graphics card Rankings
gives you a run-down of how they stack up against one another.

Video card Power requirements
tells you how much juice they require.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default

As far as the power supply, I have a compaq lol... Will it fit?


Matt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Graphics card Rankings
gives you a run-down of how they stack up against one another.

Video card Power requirements
tells you how much juice they require.


Ok im confused... For the GF 6200 model card it said 11-26 watts, did I just waste money on a new power supply? I could have sworn the website said it needed 300-350.

Matt
Army11b is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 11:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: Video Card Question..

From what I've read of the thread they tell you what your whole system needs not just your video card

but that confuses me too
SuxoR is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Video Card Question..

The card itself only uses 30w but it will most likely require a new PSU if your pc is outdated, what is your current psu and if you can, take a pic of the back of it.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Re: Video Card Question..

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
The card itself only uses 30w but it will most likely require a new PSU if your pc is outdated, what is your current psu and if you can, take a pic of the back of it.

Im not sure what my psu is.. But its a compaq presario sr1300nx.. And its 250watts. I ordered an atx/sata 350watt psu.

Matt
Army11b is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Video Card Question..

Okay, i cant really find anything on it, but what new PSU did you get?? I would say you could probably run it with your existing PSU but it depends on how many amps are on one of the psu's rails... which i cant really find out.

If you posted before you bought the video card i would have told you to buy a new pc that would destroy your current setup for about $400 but whats done is done and im here to help you.

So yeah, what PSU did you buy?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Default Re: Video Card Question..

I bought this power supply.. Thanks..


Allied 350W ATX UL Power Supply, AMD Listed Power Supply - ComputerGate.com



Matt
Army11b is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: Video Card Question..

Hows it running under stress?
__________________

SuxoR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card Question! 3dfxOC System Upgrades 2 06-08-2008 08:47 PM
cliche video card question ohGrFreak System Upgrades 18 02-09-2008 09:09 PM
question about video card pkxo New Systems | Building and Buying 0 01-23-2008 08:32 PM
Video Card Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-13-2007 10:03 PM
video card overclocking, I have a question AMD6415 Overclocking and Modding 5 06-15-2007 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.