Video Card Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2007, 11:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default Video Card Problems

Hi my pc had a new video card installed around 2 weeks a go.
I have not yet been able to re-fprmat, i measn i want to but the pc shop have installed 2 copies of windows xp (not partition) do i just go to the windows xp setup (restart version) and remove the 2 installations and reformat this way? Thanks

Lawrie
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Not quite sure what you're asking... If you want to reformat, you lose ALL your data... So back that up...

But yeah, use the XP setup CD, boot from it, and delete your two partitions. This will get rid of the boot manager that is appearing at startup.... And you can install a fresh one from there.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 02:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default

what you do is

1. Save all your data you want to keep on a seperate hard drive or whatever means you have to save. Make sure you know the size of the drive you want to format and also that you have all the drivers for your computer. I.E. motherboard drivers, accessory drivers, ect. Also make sure you have the cd-key for windows xp.

2. Go in the bio's and change the boot priority to boot from the cd rom first.

3. Insert the disk and it will say boot from cd-rom, hit any key to continue so just hit a key. It will now load the setup files and everything needed to install xp.

4. Next it will say hit enter to continue and then press f8. It will now ask you what you want to do. What you want to do is continue to install windows on the drive that already has windows on it. Just keep going through those screens saying to install it on that drive anyways untill you get to the screen that asks if you want to format the drive or leave it as is. Format it choosing ntfs quick format.

It will now format and load all the rest of the setup files needed to install. All you will have to do now is put in your name, computer name, time zone, ect.

If you have never done this before get somebody who is local for you that can help guide you through it if you run into problems. Its really self explanitory but it can get tricky depending on what equipment you have in your machine.
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.