Video Card and Power Supply Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2007, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to smalls0224
Default Video Card and Power Supply Upgrade

Hey All,

I am going to upgrade my computer with a new graphics card. My comp is too old to use PCI-E so I'm stuck with AGP. As a broke college student getting a new motherboard is out. So, I need advice on two things:

1. Whether I should get the 7600gs or 7800gs. I know the 7800 is better but is it worth the extra money? Also is it worth it to get the 512 MB versions or stick with the 256 MB. Again I know one is better but I've read that they cannot really use 512 MB so I'd just be wasting money. So advice on brand and model would be appreciated.

2. I need advice on a new PSU. Is there a limit on the wattage my motherboard can take? I've heard that mine may max at 350W, but the best graphics cards say they need 400W. So, advice and suggestions on what I should do would be great.

My comp specs:

HP a642n
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (2.0 GHz)
1 GB RAM (2x512) (added 1 stick)
200 GB Hard Drive
added Creative Audigy 2 sound card

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...reg_R1002_USEN

^Link has all the info about my comp.


Thanks for any and all help.
__________________

__________________
Do you understand the words that are comin outta my mouth?
--Chris Tucker, Rush Hour
smalls0224 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

There is no limit on how much wattage your motherboard can take. About the graphic card. The 7800GS is about the best AGP graphics card you can get. The amount of memory depends on the the kind of games you play, but usually 256MB takes care of most games. If you're on a tight budget just get the 7600GS.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to smalls0224
Default

Okay, I was talking to HP via chat earlier and they mentioned something about the highest my computer could use was 350W but I was thinking that maybe that was because they only sold up to 350W. Also, any advice on a brand of graphics card and PSU?

Thanks.
__________________
Do you understand the words that are comin outta my mouth?
--Chris Tucker, Rush Hour
smalls0224 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Hahahaha, ofcourse they're gonna tell you it can only handle a 350watter if that's the highest they sell. A good PSU company you're looking at Antec or Hiper for cheaper. The brand of video card is really up to you. Just look for a company that offers the best warranty.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

What HP may have been referring to is your type of psu. Many HP computer use BTX power supplies which is smaller than the typical ATX psu and generally has fewer watts. I couldn't find out what sort of psu you've got exactly on HP's site, could you post the info? It will be on a sticker on the psu (inside your case).
Specs:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...1002_USEN#N299
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to smalls0224
Default

It is an ATX with a 250W PSU. FYI I just finished another chat with HP and apparently they are told to say that the extra power would "force" power into my computer. I think its a bit of BS but that's what they are told. I get the feeling that the tech support guy didn't believe it either.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Do you understand the words that are comin outta my mouth?
--Chris Tucker, Rush Hour
smalls0224 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

It's not gonna force power into your computer. You could run a 2000 watt PSU if tickled your fancy. Your system is only going to use what it needs.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.