Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2009, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

Im building a new computer for my mom. She doesnt play games on it. All she does is browse the internet, email, and play with photoshop. My question is, as stated in the subject line, does she need a video card in order to run photoshop smoothly, or will the onboard video of a newer motherboard work just fine?
__________________

u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

Depends on the onboard, though you'd probably do better with a cheap graphics card like the 9400GT or HD3650.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now  
Old 05-05-2009, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

If you get an AMD build that has either the 780G or 790GX chipset, that will be more than enough.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

Not really, unless you're dual-monitoring; I have Photoshop cs4 with an intergrated graphics card, it susually depends on the amont of RAM and mine uses 4 for maximun performance.
fallenapples is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 05:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

She is using an old version of photoshop, v7.0 i think. I was thinking of using a MB with the G45 Chipset (with the Intel GMA X4500HD GPU already built in). What say you good sirs?
u4ic_fln is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 06:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 183
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

i used Photoshop cs3 on my onboard card in this rig.. witch i bought like 3-4 years ago now and it ran perfectly fine so youl be alright with it. unless your building a new one then you might as well throw in a card it wont do anything but help
__________________
http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3070/wizjz.jpg
AMD Phenom II X2 555 B.E @ 4.0 Ghz
Asus M4A88T -M/USB3
8 Gigs G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3
CM Storm Scout Tower
(1) 500 GB HD, (1) 300 GB HD
XFX GT240
Corsair CX500

Like my Sig?
I'll make ya one ;)
Dumpy is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

I am reasonably confident that photoshop is primarily CPU driven not GPU driven. The same goes for most other Adobe products such as Premiere.

The only issue is rendering time of filters. It might take 12 rather than 9 seconds to load a super complex filter. But, still, this is mostly CPU driven not GPU driven, I believe.

I have ran CS4 extended very well rendering effects onto video with my e6750 with onboard video. I have an 8400gs now for the dual monitor support but have not had to use photoshop since installing it, as I no longer do audio/video work, so I can't compare. I can only say that any modern build WILL run photoshop quite well. Anything dual core is going to be totally fine.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

CS4 is supposed to be more GPU driven than CPU driven; CS3 and before are CPU driven though if I remember right.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

Yeah i ran Photoshop on my Pentium 4 rig for a while, just make sure you get 4GB ram, an okayish onboard and a decent CPU.

EDIT: Just saw Carnage's post, which makes me think, i DID test with CS3 so maybe it has changed.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 11:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Is a Video Card needed for Photoshop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
CS4 is supposed to be more GPU driven than CPU driven; CS3 and before are CPU driven though if I remember right.
CS4 also deals with video effect rendering which is conventionally GPU based, whereas CS3 lacked that capability and only dealt with still images and still image series animations, which are traditionally CPU driven.

I think it likely will affect the render time, but I can't possibly imagine it being too extreme.

Now, if you are working with massive files then the time might be signifigant enough for any difference to matter. I've rendered images that were thousands of pixels by thousands of pixels and it did take several minutes to render the more complex effects, but I doubt most people are doing that.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iphone video converter! chaosunknown Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 03-10-2009 08:32 AM
Returning EVGA Video Card, need advice dartgande Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 12 02-26-2009 12:12 PM
Clicking sound coming from new video card. overclocked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
First build: Need help selecting PSU, video card, and sound card ItalianBoy228 System Upgrades 6 07-18-2008 07:13 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.