video card for laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2006, 01:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to eminemshow3677
Default video card for laptop?

I have a Acer Aspire 3004WLCI and the video card is a SiS Mirage2 and it SUCKS!!!!!! is there any other video cards that I could put in it?
__________________

__________________

Abit AT8 32X
BenQ DW1655LS DVD+/- RW
AMD X2 3800+
2 GB Corsair XMS Ram
300 Gb Maxtor Diamondmax
BFG 7600GT OC
Logisys Wireless Card
17\" Nec Flat Panel(Awesome)
Zalman 9500
Asus Dvd-Rom
OCZ Modstream 520W
eminemshow3677 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 02:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

in short: no
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

laptops are not very upgradeable ,i have the same problem as you i have a laptop that i want to upgrade, the only thing you can upgrade is the ram . I stuck 512mb in my dell inspiron 1300 and it improved performance greatly.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sailpog
the only thing you can upgrade is the ram.
NOT true. You can upgrade the RAM, harddrive, and add a myriad of add-in cards via PCMCIA or any other such slot on your laptop.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

well,.... i have been wrongly informed by others on this forum anyway can you give me little detail about'PCMCIA'.
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCMCIA

Does a better job than I ever will.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Yea graphics has to be the single greatest limitation on laptops, unless of course the laptop in question is extremley expensive...
Mydraal is offline  
Old 06-17-2006, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Most lappys don't have upgradeable graphics and yours is no exception. The only ones I know of that do are a few Dells and some Alienwares, that's it.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 01:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

will i beable to upgrade my dell inspiron 1300's graphics card?
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Nope, you're stuck with what you've got on that one. Only a couple of Dell's have upgradeable video and they seem to be the older ones, like the Inspiron 8000/8100/8200 were all fully upgradeable.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.