Which video card to get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default Which video card to get?

I have a Dell Dimension 4500 that is a couple of years old. It has the Ti4200 Nvidia card in it right now. I don't really want to spend a bunch of money on a card since I plan to get a new system in about 8 months. I was just wondering what type of decent cards there were that would work with this system. Basically I am looking for a card under 80 bucks. I think that I have a 4x agp slot to put the card in.

Another question I have is for gaming is it better to have a video card with say 128mb ram that runs at 6600 or is it better to have 256mb ram and processer that runs at 6200?

Thanks in advance
Tim
__________________

tjvvbsn is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

We have the exact same computer. I can't wait to I can build my new one, these Dells are a pain in the butt when it comes to upgrading. 128mb of RAM is horrible. Before you worry about your video card, you should have at least 512mb of RAM. Even that is low nowadays, but it will work. I have 768mb of RAM and the same video card and because of the RAM, the PC will play WoW with little lag, Half-Life 2 on low settings, UT2004 small deathmatches on all max settings at 1024x768, and lots of others.

So, with that in mind, upgrade your RAM significantly before you mess with video cards. The RAM will be cheaper and help more. When you decide to get a video card, I'd suggest a 6600GT or similar because I don't know if the stock PSU and motherboard with the 4500 can handle a 6800GS.

If you'd like to get into some of the newer games, just build a new PC altogether is my suggestion. Anyway, good luck!
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

I believe he was asking if 128mb video RAM was better on a faster card or 256mb is better on a slower card.

Generally on cards with more than 128mb of video RAM it is just wasted anyways. There are some games that take advantage of the extra video RAM, but they are the high end games. And if you aren't on max settings it really wont be taking more than about 128mb.

I would recommend the 128mb 6600 over the 256mb 6200.

If your slot is a 2x/4x slot, you'll need to find a 2x/4x card.
If your slot is a 4x/8x slot, you'll need to find a 4x/8x card.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 07:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Check out the 7800gs.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 08:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Ah heh. Oops.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Ok, I follow so far, my next question is will this card work.

ASUS N6200/TD/128 Geforce 6200 128MB 64-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X Low Profile Video Card - Retail

Here is the link to the card on newegg

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814121542

I have a AGP bus protocol: 4x/2x modes at 1.5v

Trying to learn more so I can build my own next time.

Again thanks for the help
Tim
tjvvbsn is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Should work fine. I don't know much about the 6200 series, but you did well and did not choose one with TurboCache. Those are trash. Good job.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

You might even be able to find a 6600 with 128mb for under $80
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.