video card driver problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2006, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default video card driver problems

Ok, I was running a xfx geforce 6800 video card and I kept getting fatal errors and figured it was due to my video card drivers. So I traded it back in for a refund and went out and bought a BFG 7600 gt oc... However, I forgot to uninstall the video drivers for the 6800 card and now when I try to boot up with my new card I get the blue screen of death everytime before getting to windows. I tried booting in safe mode and had no luck getting it to boot. I tried inserting my windows disk and trying to repair windows but the windows setup gets to the part where it says "Setup is loading windows" at the bottom and just freezes there or hits the blue screen of death. I dunno what to do.
my motherboard doesn't have a video output on it so i can't just boot off of that and uninstall the video card before putting my new one in. I have the ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe Socket T (LGA 775) mobo...

Any ideas? Thanks.

llDaNll is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to socom36252

How match ram do u have in you computer. Because even with a different driver already installed on the harddrive it shouldnt cause a fatal error. Plus they are both geforce cards. so most of the time they both use geforce drivers. I often got the blue screen and i ran memtest 86 i believe its called and it found serveral errors in one of my memory modules. If you have for the one stick, try either switching which spots they are in or use only one of the sticks or vise versa.

AMD Athlon 64 6000+ X2
M2N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 7900 gt superoverclocked
WinFast TV Tuner
2 gb of Crucial DDR2 800
120 gb sata2 and 250 sata2
500 watt psu
Windows XP Home
socom36252 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8

yea, that was the problem..Sorry I didn't update this thread last night once I got it fixed. I had 2(2 X 1GB) sticks of Cosair DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)..I guess it was too fast or something, I took out one stick and it started working fine...I tried both sticks by themselves and they both work, just not at the same time. So I guess I am going to have to get different RAM. I looked in my mobo manual and it didnt have my ram listed as being compatible, so I guess that was the problem. Thanks
llDaNll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.